Cover Poison d'amour

Album info



Label: Delos

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Vocal

Artist: Oksana Volkova, Kaunas City Symphony Orchestra & Constantine Orbelian

Composer: Francesco Cilea (1866-1950), Pietro Mascagni (1863-1945), Modest Mussorgsky (1839-1881), Georges Bizet (1838-1875), Jules Massenet (1842-1912), Nikolai Rimsky-Korssakoff (1844-1908), Ambroise Thomas (1811-1896), Camille Saint-Saens (1835-1921), Charles Gounod (1818-1893)

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 14.90
  • Charles Gounod (1818 - 1893):
  • 1Gounod: Sapho, CG 1: Ô ma lyre immortelle08:04
  • Camille Saint-Saëns (1835 - 1921): Samson et Dalila, Op. 47, R. 288 (Excerpts):
  • 2Saint-Saëns: Samson et Dalila, Op. 47, R. 288 (Excerpts): Printemps qui commence05:01
  • 3Saint-Saëns: Samson et Dalila, Op. 47, R. 288 (Excerpts): Mon coeur s'ouvre à ta voix06:19
  • Dmitry Smolsky (1937 - 2017):
  • 4Smolsky: Hoary Legend: Ti pripomni jak lotaz kalisti u lugah mi zbirali03:16
  • Ambroise Thomas (1811 - 1896):
  • 5Thomas: Mignon: Connais-tu le pays05:07
  • Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov (1844 - 1908):
  • 6Rimsky-Korsakov: Sadko: All Night I Have Waited for Him in Vain05:10
  • Jules Massenet (1842 - 1912):
  • 7Massenet: Werther: Va! Laisse couler mes larmes02:35
  • Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky (1840 - 1893):
  • 8Tchaikovsky: The Maid of Orleans, TH 6: Farewell, You Native Hills and Fields07:00
  • Georges Bizet (1838 - 1875):
  • 9Bizet: Carmen, WD 31: Seguidilla "Près des ramparts de Séville"02:10
  • Modest Mussorgsky (1839 - 1881):
  • 10Mussorgsky: Khovanshchina: Mysterious Forces05:19
  • Pietro Mascagni (1863 - 1945):
  • 11Mascagni: Cavalleria rusticana: Voi lo sapete o mamma04:12
  • Jules Massenet:
  • 12Massenet: Le Cid: Pleurez! Pleurez mes yeux05:32
  • Francesco Cilea (1866 - 1950):
  • 13Cilea: Adriana Lecouvreur: Acerba voluttà, dolce tortura04:19
  • Total Runtime01:04:04

Info for Poison d'amour

This richly rewarding album is Oksana Volkova’s first solo album on Delos, though she appeared alongside the late, great Dmitri Hvorostovsky in Delos’s GRAMMY®-nominated 2017 release of Verdi’s complete Rigoletto. Here she delivers powerful, passionate and ravishing performances of (mostly) well-known French, Italian, Russian and Belarusian arias for mezzo-soprano. The composers include Bizet, Thomas, Saint-Sae¨ns, Gounod, Cilea, Massenet and Mascagni; Russian masters heard here are Rimsky-Korsakov, Mussorgsky and Tchaikovsky, alongside a rare treat: an arresting aria by Belarusian composer Dmitri Smolsky, whose music is almost completely unknown in the West. Glowing instrumental collaboration, as usual, comes courtesy of Maestro Constantine Orbelian, leading his trusty Kaunas City Symphony Orchestra.

Oksana Volkova, mezzo-soprano
Kaunas City Symphony Orchestra
Constantine Orbelian, conductor

Oksana Volkova
Belarussian mezzo-soprano Oksana Volkova completed her Master’s Degree in Performance at the Belarussian State Academy of Music. She joined the Bolshoi Theatre of Belarus when she was still a student. Her many awards include the first prize at the International Glinka Vocal Contest and the Dvořák Singing Competition, the Belarusian State Award and a Francysk Skaryna medal. Since 2010, she has been a guest artist of the Bolshoi Theatre of Russia.

Volkova’s repertoire comprises over 20 operatic roles. She received international acclaim after her debut at the Metropolitan Opera in 2013 with Maddalena Rigoletto and Olga Eugene Onegin, and where she returned with the roles of Sonetka Lady Macbeth of Mtsensk and Giulietta The Tales of Hoffmann. She has performed her signature role of Carmen in opera houses around the world, from Moscow to Buenos Aires. Her appearances at La Scala and in Geneva and Naples Cavalleria rusticana, at the Royal Opera House, Teatro Real and Staatsoper Hamburg Eugene Onegin, at the Salzburg Festival The Queen of Spades, in Beijing Samson and Dalilah and Israel La forza del destino, Rigoletto, were highly regarded by audiences and critics. She is also known for her brilliant interpretation of Russian operatic roles such as Marina Boris Godunov, Marfa Khovanshchina, Lyubasha The Tsar’s Bride and Konchakovna Prince Igor.

Volkova collaborates with the most prominent conductors of our time, such as Vassily Sinaisky, Valery Gergiev, Mariss Jansons, Daniel Oren, Aleksandr Vedernikov, Tugan Sohiev and Carlo Rizzi. Her discography features Rigoletto and Eugene Onegin (DVD) with the Metropolitan Opera on Deutsche Grammophon, The Queen of Spades on BR Klassik (CD) and Rigoletto (CD) with Dmitri Hvorostovsky, released by Delos.

Booklet for Poison d'amour

© 2010-2023 HIGHRESAUDIO