Salles: Portraits for Friends, Books I-IV Dan Styffe

Cover Salles: Portraits for Friends, Books I-IV

Album info



Label: Fabra

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Instrumental

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 14.90
  • Bernard Salles (1954-): Book I
  • 1Dan Styffe02:39
  • 2Jeff Bradetich01:31
  • 3Thierry Barbé02:56
  • 4Catalin Rotaru01:15
  • 5Guiseppe Ettorre02:00
  • 6Alberto Bocini01:05
  • 7Wofgang Güttler02:20
  • 8Thomas Martin03:58
  • Book II
  • 9Rustem Gabdullin02:19
  • 10Albert Regreffe02:14
  • 11Alexander Shilo01:04
  • 12Miloslav Jelinek01:43
  • 13Bernard Cazautan02:13
  • 14Jorma Katrama04:31
  • 15Gerard Massat01:11
  • Book III
  • 16Jean-Marc Faucher-Berdasé01:17
  • 17Jiri Hudec01:49
  • 18Jean Ané01:19
  • 19Jean-Paul Macé03:30
  • 20Hein Van de Geyn02:22
  • 21Jacues Cazuran03:11
  • 22Francois Rabbath01:45
  • Book IV
  • 23Christope Picot03:15
  • 24Jean-Babtiste Salles02:25
  • 25Michel Marssaguet02:45
  • 26Petru Iuga02:28
  • 27Jean-Francois Jenny Clark03:49
  • 28David Heyes01:16
  • Total Runtime01:04:10

Info for Salles: Portraits for Friends, Books I-IV

„The art of musical portraiture (portraits) is an old French tradition which dates to the era of Louis XIV, with Rameau, Couperin, etc. These portraits are written for my double bass playing friends. As I met each friend, I wrote a small piece for him; each one is a sort of snapshot, a character photograph, illustrating how I sensed that person at a particular moment in time. It is a way of thanking them as both people and musicians. Of course, these collections are not limited but remain open for my future double bass playing friends… „ (Bernard Salles)

Dan Styffe, double bass

Dan Styffe
born in Sweden, has had most of his early professional career based in Norway. After studies with Göran Nyberg, Knut Guettler and Gary Karr (he also worked as Karr's assistant in 1981-82) he made his Oslo solo-debut in 1985 and since then he has been busy as soloist and chamber musician all over the world. He regularly performs at international chamber music festivals but also as soloist. He frequently participates in many international bass conventions around the world for example in Paris, Berlin, Wroclaw, Penn State, Odense and 2011 in San Fransisco and Brno. He has also been a jury member at international bass competitions. Styffe has recorded three critically acclaimed solo CD's on SIMAX Classics and his fourth will be released 2012.

He has commissioned a number of new pieces, and he works regularly with composers like Rolf Martinsson, Fredrik Högberg, Teppo Hauta-Aho, Bernard Salles, Paul Ramsier, Rune Rebne, Henrik Hellstenius, Jon Øyvind Ness, Gisle Kverndokk, John Persen, Asbjørn Schaatun, Ruben Sverre Gjertsen, Marcus Paus and Erlend Skumsvoll.

In April 2011 Styffe premiered and recorded Rolf Martinsson's Double Bass Concerto with Oslo Philharmonic/Saraste and later the same year he recorded Fredrik Högberg's concerto "Hitting the First Bass" with Tromsø Chamber Orchestra and Kolbjørn Holthe. Styffe performed the world premiere of this concerto with The Norwegian Chamber Orchestra and Isabelle van Keulen. After his studies Styffe was appointed Principal Bassist in The Norwegian Opera Orchestra and later Principal Bassist with The Norwegian Chamber Orchestra (under Iona Brown's leadership). He is currently holding the chair of Co-Principal Bassist at The Oslo Philharmonic (under Mariss Jansons, André Previn and Jukka Pekka Saraste).

Styffe was also member of the chamber ensemble Borealis for many years. He performs regularly with many international musicians and the closest partners are so far violist Catherine Bullock, pianist Gonzalo Moreno and cellist Øystein Birkeland. During 2011 he will record duos with violinist Peter Herresthal.

Dan Styffe plays a Gasparo da Saló double bass made in Brescia, Italy in aproximately 1580. This instrument is owned by the foundation Dextra Musica, Sparebankstiftelsen DnB NOR.

Booklet for Salles: Portraits for Friends, Books I-IV

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO