Album info



Label: harmonia mundi

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Concertos

Album including Album cover


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 21.00
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791): Concerto for Violin and Orchestra No. 1, in B-Flat Major, K. 207:
  • 1I. Allegro moderato06:45
  • 2II. Adagio07:27
  • 3III. Presto05:21
  • Rondo for Violin and Orchestra, in B-Flat Major, K. 269/261a:
  • 4Allegro06:50
  • Concerto for Violin and Orchestra No. 2, in D Major, K. 211:
  • 5I. Allegro moderato08:07
  • 6II. Andante07:09
  • 7III. Rondeau. Allegro04:10
  • Concerto for Violin and Orchestra No. 3, in G Major, K. 216:
  • 8I. Allegro08:20
  • 9II. Adagio07:29
  • 10III. Rondeau. Allegro- Andante - Allegretto - Tempo primo06:07
  • Rondo for Violin and Orchestra, in C Major, K. 373:
  • 11Allegretto grazioso05:36
  • Concerto for Violin and Orchestra No. 4, in D Major, K. 218:
  • 12I. Allegro08:52
  • 13II. Andante cantabile06:27
  • 14III. Rondeau. Andante grazioso - Allegro ma non troppo07:36
  • 15Adagio for Violin and Orchestra, in E Major, K. 26106:33
  • Concerto for Violin and Orchestra No. 5, in A Major, K. 219:
  • 16I. Allegro aperto - Adagio - Allegro aperto09:20
  • 17II. Adagio08:50
  • 18III. Rondeau: Tempo di Menuetto - Allegro - Tempo di Menuetto08:07
  • Total Runtime02:09:06

Info for Mozart: Violin Concertos

The five most brilliant concertos for violin, all penned before the age of 19! Mozart was not even 15 years old when he began composing violin concertos that would serve as a backdrop at Salzburg receptions. An insatiable drive for independence would however lead the young Konzertmeister to overtly challenge musical forms, innovate with genres, humour and frivolity, all of which can be heard in this delightful first collaboration between Isabelle Faust and the musicians of Il Giardino Armonico.

„The music is astoundingly elegant, but it also prances and preens, and I had wondered what Isabelle Faust most refined and intellectually scrutinising of today s violinists would do with all that cheek and bravado. Turns out she makes it fly where it counts, and always on her own terms. This is the kind of recording whose booklet notes list the instrument pedigree of every single member of Il Giardino Armonico, which might seem precious if the ensemble playing wasn’t so fresh and buoyant, and if it didn’t sound like every player was an alert and integral part of the whole ... Faust s touch is light, finespun, pristine often her bow hardly glosses the strings, but there s proper robustness to balance in the chunky, sparky cadenzas.“ (Kate Molleson - The Guardian)

„Faust is different as a mainstream interpreter in that she opts for a period orchestra and a historically informed style in these winning accounts of much-loved works. The selling point apart from the inclusion of the B flat and C major rondos (K269/261a and K373), and the E major Adagio (K261), substantial fillers is the cadenzas, newly written by the Mozart specialist Andreas Staier ... Faust s spirited tempi in the outer movements of K218 and K219 bring this music as vividly to life as any recording I know, and her sweet singing tone in the andantes and adagio give full expressive value. Lively accompaniments from the Italians.“ (Hugh Canning, The Sunday Times)

„The most critical thing is the match between Isabelle Faust and her gut strung Strad and the orchestra; they fit beautifully, she seems almost airborne at times, so light and airy is the sound ... everything is so well balanced, soloist with ensemble, cadenzas with original Mozart, the speeds and rhythmic drive of the outer movements with the delicacy and fine sprung lyricism of Mozart s middle movements. Ornamentation with a light touch, and the recording itself is as airy as the playing. These performances don t make the mistake of investing the music with a weight and profundity at odds with its inspiration, they sing to us with simplicity and elegance, and I actually listened through the lot in one sitting, so much was I enjoying the experience.“ (Andrew McGregor, BBC Radio 3 Record Review)

Isabelle Faust, violin
Il Giardino Armonico
Giovanni Antonini, conductor

No biography found.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2018 HIGHRESAUDIO