Bridges: works for violin and piano by Greek composers Danae Papamattheou-Matschke & Uwe Matschke

Cover Bridges: works for violin and piano by Greek composers

Album info



Label: BIS

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Chamber Music

Artist: Danae Papamattheou-Matschke & Uwe Matschke

Composer: Yannis Constantinidis (1903-1984), Boris Papandopulo (1906–1991), Dimitri Terzakis (1938)

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 14.90
  • Boris Papandopulo (1906 - 1991): Meditation:
  • 1Papandopulo: Meditation06:24
  • Sonata for violin and piano:
  • 2Papandopulo: Sonata for violin and piano - I. Allegro con brio05:50
  • 3Papandopulo: Sonata for violin and piano - II. Scherzo03:28
  • 4Papandopulo: Sonata for violin and piano - III. Largo (Sostenuto adagio)06:14
  • 5Papandopulo: Sonata for violin and piano - VI. Allegro moderato03:01
  • Dinos Constantinidis (1929 - 2021): Sonata for violin and piano:
  • 6Constantinidis: Sonata for violin and piano - I. Moderato04:41
  • 7Constantinidis: Sonata for violin and piano - II. Adagio04:23
  • 8Constantinidis: Sonata for violin and piano - III. Allegro moderato04:51
  • Dimitri Terzakis (b. 1938): Sonate infernale:
  • 9Terzakis: Sonate infernale - I.03:03
  • 10Terzakis: Sonate infernale - II.05:19
  • 11Terzakis: Sonate infernale - III.07:51
  • Sprüche im Wind:
  • 12Terzakis: Sprüche im Wind - I.00:55
  • 13Terzakis: Sprüche im Wind - II.00:35
  • 14Terzakis: Sprüche im Wind - III.00:26
  • 15Terzakis: Sprüche im Wind - IV.00:53
  • 16Terzakis: Sprüche im Wind - V.00:35
  • 17Terzakis: Sprüche im Wind - VI.01:11
  • 18Terzakis: Sprüche im Wind - VII.00:54
  • 19Terzakis: Sprüche im Wind - VIII.00:22
  • 20Terzakis: Sprüche im Wind - IX.01:09
  • 21Terzakis: Sprüche im Wind - X.00:50
  • Yannis Constantinidis (1903 - 1984): Suite sur des mélodies populaires grecques:
  • 22Constantinidis: Suite sur des mélodies populaires grecques - I. Air de Karpathos01:53
  • 23Constantinidis: Suite sur des mélodies populaires grecques - II. Chant pastoral de Kalymnos00:51
  • 24Constantinidis: Suite sur des mélodies populaires grecques - III. Chant et danse de Rhodes01:57
  • 25Constantinidis: Suite sur des mélodies populaires grecques - IV. Danse de Leros01:14
  • 26Constantinidis: Suite sur des mélodies populaires grecques - V. Air de Rhodes02:50
  • 27Constantinidis: Suite sur des mélodies populaires grecques - VI. Chant nuptial et danse de Rhodes02:53
  • Total Runtime01:14:33

Info for Bridges: works for violin and piano by Greek composers

This recording has been designed to introduce works for violin and piano by Greek composers or composers of partial Greek descent, whose works were inspired and shaped far from their place of birth by the influences and cultural trends of their new environments.

Boris Papandopulo was based in the former Yugoslavia and his music is infused with Balkan folk music elements as displayed by his Sonata while the Meditation, which opens this recording, is infused with an elegiac atmosphere inspired by the Dalmatian coast. Dinos Constantinides lived for more than 50 years in the United States. While his Sonata for violin and piano uses the twelve-tone technique it is at the same time characterized by long sweeping melodies.

Dimitri Terzakis’ Sonate infernale was inspired by the reading of Dante’s Divine Comedy. Dedicated to violinist Danae Papamattheou-Matschke, Sprüche im Wind is an aphoristic cycle made of miniatures displaying short melodic ideas which can be seen as a poetic distillation of his sonata. One of the most versatile Greek musicians of the twentieth century, Yannis Constantinidis composed his Suite on popular Greek songs from the Dodecanese based on authentic melodies and folk dances richly harmonized with an almost impressionistic sensitivity to which improvisational embellishments are added.

Danae Papamattheou-Matschke, violin
Uwe Matschke, piano

anae Papamattheou-Matschke
belongs to the promising new generation of young violinists.

Born in Athens, she takes her first violin lessons in her hometown, followed by studies at the “Musikgymnasium Schloss Belvedere” in Weimar with Jost Witter, the Mozarteum University Salzburg with Igor Ozim and the University of Music and Theatre in Hamburg with Tanja Becker - Bender, all completed with the highest distinctions. Today she is PhD Candidate at the Macedonian University, Thessaloniki.

At the age of 11, she makes her debut in Greek music festivals, soon followed by concerts in German cities with enthusiastic press reviews:

She has given recitals in Germany, USA, China, Italy, Spain, Switzerland, Austria, Slovenia, Estonia, Finland, Sweden and Cyprus and has worked as a soloist with a variety of symphony orchestras, such as the Athens and Thessaloniki State Orchestras, the Greek Radio Symphony Orchestra, the Orchestra of the Association of Friends of Music "Camerata", the Mendelssohn Chamber Orchestra Leipzig, the Thüringer Philharmonie a.o.

As a soloist and enthusiastic chamber musician, she regularly appears at international music festivals such as the Mecklenburg-Vorpommern Festival, the International Mendelssohn Festival Hamburg, the Pharos International Music Festival, the Samos Young Artists Festival and the Molyvos International Music Festival as well as at the large music centres such as Gewandhaus Leipzig, the Elbphilharmonie and Laeiszhalle Hamburg, the Beijing National Performing Arts Centre and the concert halls of Athens and Thessaloniki.

International master classes with Igor Ozim, Ana Chumachenko, Zakhar Bron, Donald Weilerstein, Vanya Milanova, Boris Garlitsky, Tanja Becker - Bender, Christiane Hutcap and the Szymanowski Quartet gave her special artistic impulses.

Danae Papamattheou - Matschke is the 1st prize-winner in numerous national and international competitions such as the International Violin Competition "Andrea Postacchini" (IT), "Henri Marteau", "Jugend musiziert" (DE), the International Competition for Young Soloists "Ersi Saratsi" and the "Panhellenic Violin Competition" (GR).

In addition, she won special prizes for the best interpretation of a virtuoso work at the international "Henri Marteau" violin competition and for the best interpretation of a contemporary work at the International "Szymon Goldberg Award" (DE).

Two CD productions present recordings of works by J. S. Bach, L. v. Beethoven, E. Bloch, C. Franck, C. Debussy, M. Ravel and D. Terzakis (IRIDA Classical).

She was repeatedly honoured with grants from international non-profit organizations for her outstanding achievements. She was a scholarship holder of the Association of Music Friends Athens, the “Alexandros S. Onassis Foundation”, the “Deutsche Stiftung Musikleben”, the “Hermann and Milena Ebel Foundation” and the “Berenberg Bank Foundation”.

She is also particularly interested in chamber music. Since 2018 she is leading violinist of the "Nichiteanu Trio" and regularly performs in Germany and abroad.

Danae Papamattheou-Matschke plays on a violin made by Carlo Ferdinando Landolfi, Milan 1760.

Booklet for Bridges: works for violin and piano by Greek composers

© 2010-2023 HIGHRESAUDIO