Mi Oblivion Machiko Ozawa

Cover Mi Oblivion

Album info



Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 15.00
  • Ástor Piazzolla (1921 - 1992):
  • 1Michelangelo 70 (Arr. for Violin & Piano)03:04
  • 2Las 4 Estaciones Porteñas: No. 2, Otoño Porteño (Arr. for Violin & Piano)06:15
  • 3Escualo (Arr. for Violin & Piano)03:20
  • 4Las 4 Estaciones Porteñas: No. 4, Invierno Porteño (Arr. for Violin & Piano)07:10
  • 5Oblivion (Arr. for Violin & Piano)04:41
  • 6Histoire du Tango: III. Nightclub 1960 (Arr. for Violin & Piano)05:36
  • 7Las 4 Estaciones Porteñas: No. 3, Primavera Porteña (Arr. for Violin & Piano)05:35
  • 8La Muerte del Ángel (Arr. for Violin & Piano)03:07
  • 9Las 4 Estaciones Porteñas: No. 1, Verano Porteño (Arr. for Violin & Piano)06:24
  • 10Libertango (Arr. for Violin & Piano)06:03
  • Jacob Gade (1879 - 1963):
  • 11Jalousie (Tango Tzigane) [Arr. for Violin & Piano]04:34
  • Gerardo Matos Rodríguez (1897 - 1948):
  • 12La Cumparsita (Arr. for Violin & Piano)05:28
  • Ástor Piazzolla (1921 - 1992):
  • 13Oblivion (Arr. for Violin & Piano)05:19
  • Total Runtime01:06:36

Info for Mi Oblivion

"Mi Oblivion" is a solo album by violinist Machiko Ozawa with music by Astor Piazzolla and other traditional Argentine tangos. This extremely emotional and exotic tango music has always been Machiko’s passion since she first played it. The music has the energetic syncopation and danceable rhythm of milonga as well as melancholic melodies. This album includes masterworks by Astor Piazzolla such as Las Cuatro Estaciones (Four Seasons of Buenos Aires), Oblivion, Libertango, Nightclub 1960 from Histoire du Tango, La Muerte del Angel from Serie del Angel, Escualo, and Michelangelo 70, in addition to well-known tango pieces such as La Cumparsita and Jealousy. Machiko collaborated with three pianists on the album: Latin pianist Alon Yavnai, classical pianist Ryo Yanagitani, and jazz pianist Ayako Shirasaki. The dynamic duo of violin and piano in this rendition of Piazzolla and other tangos highlights the music in an innovative way. This album is an homage to Octavio Brunetti (1975-2014) who worked and performed together with Machiko for seven years until his death in 2014. There is a bonus track of a recording by Machiko and Octavio.

Machiko Ozawa, violin
Alon Yavnai, piano (on tracks 1, 2, 4, 5, 9, 10 & 12)
Ryo Yanagitani, piano (on tracks 3, 6 & 7)
Ayako Shirasaki, piano (on tracks 8 & 11)
Octavio Brunetti, piano (on track 13)

Machiko Ozawa
a former concertmaster of Orquesta Sinfonica Sinaloa de las artes, gave her debut recital at the Carnegie Weill Recital Hall as a winner of the Artists International Competition. Subsequently she has performed as a soloist with the C.W. Post Chamber Orchestra, Henry Mancini Festival Orchestra, North Shore Symphony Orchestra, and Orquesta Sinfónica Sinaloa de las Artes, among others. She was appointed concertmaster of the Orquesta Sinfónica Sinaloa de las Artes, a position she served for two years. While she was serving a concertmaster, the orchestra was awarded " Amigos de la Musica" as the best orchestra in Mexico. She has also performed as a tango soloist with the Presidential Symphony Orchestra in Turkey, the Pan American Symphony Orchestra in Washington, D.C. as well as American Philharmonic Orchestra in California.

As a performing artist, Ms. Ozawa has extended her musicianship to other styles of music, including jazz, Argentine tango, improvisation, and tap dance, among others. In addition, she has created her own style of performance called tapdanceviolin, which has been incorporated in some of her original compositions. She performed Morton Gould's Tap Concerto as a tap dancer soloist with the North Shore Symphony Orchestra. Her M2duo (formally M2O) with pianist Makia Matsumura was a finalist in the New York International Tango Competition. Ms. Ozawa was selected as one of the main cast members in the award winning musical Amor Latino at Thalia Theatre, in which she played as a tapdancer and violinist.

As a composer, Ms. Ozawa has written numerous original compositions. Her first composition “Syrenes” for violin, percussion and orchestra was commissioned and premiered by the North Shore Symphony Orchestra with her as the solo violinist. Ms. Ozawa received an artistic grant from the YAMAHA Foundation and released her first album, Vertical Voyage, in Japan of all original compositions.

As a recording artist, she has credited as a violinist for Erwin Schrott “Rojotango”(SONY CLASSICAL), Placido Domingo “Songs”(SONY CLASSICAL), Aruan Ortiz”Santiarican Blues Suite(Sunnyside Records), Importango”Tango For Import”(Panoramic Recordings), Urban Tango Trio”Urban Tango Trio”(PLATONIC), UA”SUN”(Victor Entertainment), among others.

In 2008, Ms. Ozawa has formed her own tango group, Urban Tango Trio, with Argentine pianist Octavio Brunetti and bassist Pedro Giraudo. The Urban Tango Trio released their first album, Urban Tango Trio, by Platonic Record in 2011 in Japan. The trio has dazzled the audiences throughout U.S. and Japan. It made The Washington Post says " an endearing blend of high-powered music-making and coltish enthusiasm" , The Latina Magazine in Japan says " Their renditions of Piazzolla were superb. . . urban and intelligent, with a splendid rush of musical vigor.” In addition, she also has performed with renowned tango players and groups, such as Pablo Ziegler, Forever Tango with Victor Lavallen, Hector Del Curto’s Eternal Tango, Fernando Otero and Octavio Brunetti at major venues in U.S. such as Blue Note New York, Jazz Standard, Lincoln Center, Kennedy Center Performing Arts, Mondavi Center, Winter Garden at Financial Center, Joe's Pub and Highline Ballroom.

Ms. Ozawa received her formal training from The Juilliard School, Guildhall School of Music and Drama, and Tokyo National University of the Arts (Tokyo Gei Dai). She has studied with Yfrah Neaman, Lewis Kaplan, Masao Kawasaki, Takashi Shimizu, Chikashi Tanaka, Takayoshi Wanami, and Shigeru Toyama. She has given numerous solo recitals in U.S. and Japan at major venues such as Carnegie Weill Recital Hall, Merkin Concert Hall, Tokyo Bunka Kaikan, and Nikkei Hall, among others. She has performed in chamber music groups and orchestras at Carnegie Hall, Lincoln Center’s Avery Fisher Hall and Alice Tully Hall, Barbican Center, Bellas Artes, Symphony Space, GW Lisner Auditorium, and Mondavi Center.

Ms. Ozawa was an Artinst-In-Residence of S&R Foundation in 2015-2016 season. She is a Yamaha Performing Artist and plays on Yamaha's electric violin, YEV-104NT.

Booklet for Mi Oblivion

© 2010-2018 HIGHRESAUDIO