Album info



Label: Deutsche Grammophon

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Vocal

Album including Album cover

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • Agustin Lara (1897 - 1970):
  • 1Granada (Arr. Chichon)03:55
  • Traditional:
  • 2La Llorona (Arr. del Rey)05:39
  • 3Vai lavar a cara (Arr. Durán)02:45
  • Violeta Parra (1917 - 1967):
  • 4Gracias a la vida (Arr. del Rey)04:04
  • Edvard Grieg (1843 - 1907):
  • 5T‘estimo (Arr. Langley)02:30
  • Salvatore Cardillo (1874 - 1947):
  • 6Core ‘ngrato (Arr. Langley)03:26
  • Ernesto de Curtis (1875 - 1937):
  • 7Torna a Surriento (Arr. Langley)03:28
  • 8Non ti scordar di me (Arr. Langley)03:47
  • Stanislao Gastaldon (1861 - 1939):
  • 9Musica proibita (Arr. Chichon)03:55
  • Francesco Paolo Tosti (1846 - 1916):
  • 10Non t'amo più (Arr. Chichon)05:23
  • Ernesto de Curtis:
  • 11Voce'e notte (Arr. Langley)03:09
  • Francesco Paolo Tosti:
  • 12Marechiare (Arr. Langley)03:19
  • Astor Piazzolla (1921 - 1992): Maria de Buenos Aires:
  • 13Maria de Buenos Aires: Yo soy María (Arr. del Rey)03:19
  • Rosendo Mato Hermida:
  • 14Lela (Arr. Durán)05:33
  • Pablo Sorozábal (1897 - 1988): La Taberna del Puerto:
  • 15La Taberna del Puerto: No puede ser02:56
  • Carlos Gardel (1890 - 1887):
  • 16El día que me quieras (Arr. Chichon)04:38
  • Ary Barroso (1903 - 1964):
  • 17Brazil (Arr. Chichon)03:53
  • Total Runtime01:05:39

Info for Sol y Vida

Sol y vida is Elīna Garanča’sjourney to the South, from Spain to Italy and Latin America, and is her first album focusing entirely on non core-classical repertoire.

Be ready to expect a personal album from the mezzo-soprano, whose centre of life has been Spain for many years. A selection of songs, canzone and tango pieces, both mirroring and spreading a flamboyantly emotional array of beaming happiness, passionate longing and exuberant joy. A feast of vocal colours, and a firework of passion, from the well-known Granada to the intimate world of La Llorona.

Featuring jewels of Latin American song repertoire like Piazolla’s Yo soy Maria, originally part of a tango operita and Gracias a la vida, one of the most covered Latin American songs in history both featuring guitarist Jose Maria Gallardo del Rey in new intimate arrangements. Many of the popular pieces have mainly been sung by tenors, like “Core ‘ngrato”, which was probably written for Caruso or the popular Neapolitan songs “Torna a surriento” or “Canto napoletano”.

Elīna Garanča, mezzo-soprano
Orquesta Filarmónica De Gran Canaria
Karel Mark Chichon, conductor

Elīna Garanča
was born into a musical family in Riga, Latvia. She studied at the Latvian Academy of Music with her mother. She won the Mirjam Helin Singing Competition in 1999 and was a finalist in the 2001 BBC Cardiff Singer of the World Competition.

She began her professional career as a resident artist with the Südthüringischer Staatstheater in Meiningen where she appeared in many leading roles. She later appeared as a resident artist with Oper Frankfurt.

Since then, Elina has established herself as one of the music world’s major stars through her performances with leading opera companies and symphony orchestras around the world. She has captured critical and popular acclaim for her beautiful voice, intelligent musicianship, and compelling stage portrayals.

In September 2005 Elina became an exclusive artist with Deutsche Grammophon (DG). Her first solo recording Aria Cantilena was released in March 2007 to great popular and critical acclaim. Her last two albums have also both won an ECHO Klassik award, in 2012 (Romantique) and most recently in 2015 (Meditation).

Her most recent album Revive was released in late 2016 and was unanimously praised by the critics: “a thrilling disc, rich in a sumptuous quality” (The Telegraph).

During the 2018/19 season, Elina will open the season at the Metropolitan Opera in a new production of Samson et Dalila and will return to the Wiener Staatsoper in Cavalleria Rusticana. On the concert platform, Elina will sing Mahler with the Metropolitan Opera Orchestra and Yannick Nézet-Séguin, the Verdi Requiem with the Berlin Philharmonic and Riccardo Muti, and give recitals at Carnegie and Wigmore Hall. Elina will also star at various festivals and galas throughout Europe, South America and beyond.

Recent highlights include a critically-acclaimed role debuts in new productions as Princess Eboli in Don Carlos at the Opéra national de Paris, and Dalila in Samson et Dalila at the Wiener Staatsoper. Other highlights include a new production of La Favorite at Bayerische Staatsoper (recently released on DVD by DG). She also starred in a new production of Der Rosenkavalier at the Metropolitan Opera – broadcast in cinemas worldwide.

Ms Garanča has been the recipient of many awards: Musical America’s ‘Vocalist of the Year’ 2010; MIDEM’s ‘Singer of the Year’ 2007 and the ECHO Klassik award for ‘Female Singer of the Year’ the same year.

She has also given numerous gala concerts and recitals across the world, including the Verdi Requiem from Teatro alla Scala with Daniel Barenboim, Anja Harteros, Jonas Kaufmann and René Pape (also released as CD/DVD on Decca) and regular recitals at Carnegie Hall in New York and Wigmore Hall in London.

In May 2013, Ms Garanča was honoured by the Weiner Staatsoper with the title of ‘Kammersängerin’. One of the youngest recipients of the Award, Ms Garanča was honoured for her devotion to the House, singing over one hundred and forty performances of eighteen roles since her debut in the House in 2003, beginning with the small role of Lola, and now the House’s reigning Carmen, Sesto, Giovanna Seymour, Charlotte and Octavian.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO