Dvorák: The Slavonic Dances (Remastered) George Szell

Album info



Label: Sony Classical

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Orchestral

Artist: George Szell

Composer: Antonin Dvorák (1841-1904)

Album including Album cover

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • Antonín Dvořák (1841 - 1904): Slavonic Dances, Op. 46:
  • 1No. 1 in C Major - Presto03:55
  • 2No. 2 in E Minor - Allegretto scherzando05:25
  • 3No. 3 in A-Flat Major - Poco allegro04:59
  • 4No. 4 in F Major - Tempo di Minuetto07:08
  • 5No. 5 in A Major - Allegro vivace03:20
  • 6No. 6 in D Major - Allegretto scherzando05:49
  • 7No. 7 in C Minor - Allegro assai03:28
  • 8No. 8 in G Minor - Presto04:02
  • Slavonic Dances, Op. 72:
  • 9No. 1 in B Major - Molto vivace04:23
  • 10No. 2 in E Minor - Allegretto grazioso06:02
  • 11No. 3 in F Major - Allegro03:23
  • 12No. 4 in D-Flat Major - Allegretto grazioso05:10
  • 13No. 5 in B-Flat Minor - Poco adagio02:43
  • 14No. 6 in B-Flat Major - Moderato, quasi minuetto04:09
  • 15No. 7 in C Major - Allegro vivace03:00
  • 16No. 8 in A-Flat Majro - Grazioso e lento, ma non troppo, quasi tempo di Valse07:23
  • Total Runtime01:14:19

Info for Dvorák: The Slavonic Dances (Remastered)

Brahms's Hungarian Dances were the model for these Slavonic Dances by Antonín Dvorák. Brahms, however, was a German writing in the Gypsy style, while Dvorák composed using elements from his native land. Indeed, much of Dvorák's work -- including his symphonies, string quartets, and operas -- has a folklike character. There are two sets of eight dances, and what's most remarkable about them is their wide range of emotions. Sure, many of them are rollicking and boisterous, but there are also dances that are gracious, some that are nostalgic, and a few that are dripping with gorgeous melancholy. George Szell was actually born in Hungary, but he worked in Prague for a number of years and was a terrific conductor of Czech music. When this recording was made in the early 1960s, many players from the Cleveland Orchestra had emigrated from Central Europe and had this music in their blood; their collective affection is palpable in every note.

"After a slew of second-rate Slavonic Dances recordings, it's gratifying to once again make acquaintance with this classic Szell reading. Yes, the sound's a bit harsh and shallow, but boy, you just don't find performances as exciting and well played as these every day. Szell conducts enthusiastically and enlivens the music with a natural poetic inflection and nuance, while the Cleveland Orchestra takes to these pieces as if bred to play them. Listen to the delightfully bright woodwind tone in Op. 46 Nos. 1, 3, and 4, the sweetly singing strings in Op. 72 No. 1, the dancing lilt of Op. 46 No. 6, or the beautifully sculpted phrasing of Op. 72 No. 8. Plus, Szell is the only conductor on disc to play the opening repeat of Op. 72 No. 7 after the introductory bars (which otherwise is an awkward "restart" that, in the score or no, makes little musical sense). No matter which Slavonic Dances recording you own (even great ones like Kubelik, and Neumann) you simply must not do with out this magnificent Essential Classics release." (Victor Carr Jr., ClassicsToday)

The Cleveland Orchestra
George Szell, conductor

Digitally remastered

No biography found.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO