Evocation Itamar Zorman

Cover Evocation

Album info



Label: BIS

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Chamber Music

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 13.50
  • Paul Ben-Haim (1897 - 1984):
  • 1Evocation, Op. 3219:18
  • 3 Songs Without Words (Version for Violin & Piano):
  • 23 Songs Without Words (Version for Violin & Piano): No. 1, Arioso04:09
  • 33 Songs Without Words (Version for Violin & Piano): No. 2, Ballad02:23
  • 43 Songs Without Words (Version for Violin & Piano): No. 3, Sephardic Melody02:59
  • Violin Concerto:
  • 5Violin Concerto: I. Allegro07:12
  • 6Violin Concerto: II. Andante affettuoso05:32
  • 7Violin Concerto: III. Vivo08:10
  • 3 Studies:
  • 83 Studies: No. 1, Vivo02:14
  • 93 Studies: No. 2, Fuga03:31
  • 103 Studies: No. 3, Presto e molto leggiero00:59
  • 11Berceuse sfaradite03:38
  • 5 Pieces, Op. 34:
  • 125 Pieces, Op. 34: No. 5, Toccata (Arr. M. Zorman for Violin & Orchestra)03:19
  • Total Runtime01:03:24

Info for Evocation

Paul Frankenburger left his native Germany in 1933 in response to the National Socialists’ rise to power. Up to that point he had been fully immersed in the German tradition and his compositions followed in the footsteps of the great German post-Romantics like Mahler. Yet after arriving to the British Mandate of Palestine, not only did he change his name to Paul Ben-Haim, but his compositional style underwent a profound change as well. Devised by the young violinist Itamar Zorman, this album tracks how the music of the region gradually became an integral part of Ben-Haim’s compositions. Six works spanning four decades represent different stages in this process of synthesis between East and West, the transformation of Frankenburger into Ben-Haim.

Zorman, a prize-winner in the 2011 Tchaikovsky Competition, is supported by the BBC National Orchestra of Wales and Philippe Bach in the opening Evocation (Yizkor) from 1942, and the Violin Concerto, as well as in the arrangement (by the father of the soloist) of a Toccata, originally composed for the piano. These are interspersed by Three Songs without Words and Berceuse sfaradite, one of Ben-Haim’s most popular works, in which Itamar Zorman is partnered by pianist Amy Yang. Also part of the programme is Ben-Haim’s last composition for the violin, the Three Studies for Solo Violin, written in 1981 for Yehudi Menuhin.

Itamar Zorman, violin
Amy Yang, piano
BBC National Orchestra of Wales
Philippe Bach, conductor

Itamar Zorman
The recipient of an Avery Fisher Career Grant and a Borletti-Buitoni Trust award, Itamar Zorman was also joint winner of the 2011 International Tchaikovsky Competition. Other competition successes include first prize at the 2010 International Violin Competition of Freiburg and the Juilliard Berg Concerto Competition in April 2010.

Mr. Zorman has performed as a soloist with such orchestras as the Mariinsky Orchestra, Israel Philharmonic, KBS Symphony Seoul, HR-Sinfonieorchester Frankfurt, German Radio Philharmonic, Orchestre National du Capitole de Toulouse, Utah Symphony and American Symphony, with conductors Valery Gergiev, Zubin Mehta, David Robertson, James DePreist and Yuri Bashmet, at Avery Fisher Hall, Carnegie Hall's Stern Auditorium, Tokyo's Suntory Hall and Amsterdam Concertgebouw. As a recitalist he performed at Carnegie Hall's Distinctive Debut series, People's Symphony Concerts, the Louvre Museum, Suntory Hall and Frankfurt Radio, and has taken part in festivals such as Verbier, Marlboro, Rheingau, Mecklenburg-Vorpommern and Radio France.

In the 2017-2018 season, Itamar Zorman will appear with the Classical Tahoe and Asheville Symphony Orchestras to perform Jonathan Leschnoff's Chamber Concerto for Violin and Orchestra, as well as with the Southwest Florida Symphony and Gonzaga Symphony. International performances include concertos with Kamerata Baltica, Meininger Hofkapelle, Orchestre Symphonique de Bretagne, Camerata Nordica, Be'er Sheva Sinfonietta and the NFM Leopoldinum Orchestra, Wroclaw. Recital and chamber music appearances include the Kravis Center, Billings Symphony Orchestra recital series, Dublin-Laurens Arts Council, Juilliard School, Pro Musica (San Miguel de Allende), Hudson Valley Music Club, String Theory at the Hunter Museum of Art, Argenta Concert Series, and returns to Marlboro and Swannanoa Festivals.

His first solo CD recording, entitled ‘Portrait’, and featuring works by Messiaen, Schubert, Chausson, Hindemith and Brahms was released in Europe in August 2014 and the US in February 2015) by Profil - Editions Günther Hänssler.

As a chamber musician, Zorman has appeared at the Lincoln Center, Zankel and Weill Recital Halls in Carnegie Hall, and at the Kennedy Center in Washington, DC. He is a founding member of the Israeli Chamber Project, and a member of the Lysander Piano Trio, with which he won the 2012 Concert Artists Guild Competition, the Grand Prize in the 2011 Coleman Chamber Music Competition, 1st prize in the 2011 Arriaga Competition, and a bronze medal in the 2010 Fischoff National Chamber Music Competition.

Itamar Zorman is a recipient of scholarships from the America-Israel Cultural Foundation, and has taken part in numerous master classes around the world, working with Itzhak Perlman, Pinchas Zuckerman, Shlomo Mintz, Ida Handel and Ivry

Born in Tel-Aviv in 1985 to a family of musicians, Itamar Zorman began his violin studies at the age of six with Saly Bockel at the Israeli Conservatory of Music in Tel-Aviv. He graduated in 2003 and continued his studies with Professor David Chen and Nava Milo. He received his Bachelor of Music from the Jerusalem Academy of Music and Dance as a student of Hagai Shaham. He received his Master's of Music from The Juilliard School in 2009, where he studied with Robert Mann and Sylvia Rosenberg, and received an Artist Diploma from Manhattan School of Music in 2010, and an Artist Diploma from Julliard in 2012, studying with Ms. Rosenberg. He later Continued his studies with Christian Tetzlaff and Mauricio Fuks at The Kronberg Academy.

Itamar Zorman plays on a 1734 Guarneri Del Jesù from the collection of Yehuda Zisapel.

Booklet for Evocation

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO