Beethoven - Bartók - Dvorák: String Quartets Juilliard String Quartet

Album info



Label: Sony Classical

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Chamber Music

Artist: Juilliard String Quartet

Composer: Bela Bartok (1881-1945), Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827), Antonin Dvorak (1841-1904)

Album including Album cover

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770- 1827): Beethoven: String Quartet in E Minor, Op. 59, No. 2:
  • 1Beethoven: String Quartet in E Minor, Op. 59, No. 2: I. Allegro08:55
  • 2Beethoven: String Quartet in E Minor, Op. 59, No. 2: II. Molto Adagio. Si tratta questo pezzo con moto sentimento12:05
  • 3Beethoven: String Quartet in E Minor, Op. 59, No. 2: III. Allegretto - Maggiore (Thème russe)06:22
  • 4Beethoven: String Quartet in E Minor, Op. 59, No. 2: IV. Finale. Presto05:23
  • Béla Bartók (1881 - 1945): Bartók: String Quartet No.3, Sz.85:
  • 5Bartók: String Quartet No.3, Sz.85: I. Prima parte: Moderato04:34
  • 6Bartók: String Quartet No.3, Sz.85: II. Seconda parte: Allegro05:26
  • 7Bartók: String Quartet No.3, Sz.85: III. Recapitulazione della prima parte: Moderato02:55
  • 8Bartók: String Quartet No.3, Sz.85: IV. Coda: Allegro molto01:55
  • Antonín Dvorák (1841 - 1904): Dvorák: String Quartet in F Major, Op.96, "American":
  • 9Dvorák: String Quartet in F Major, Op.96, "American": I. Allegro, ma non troppo09:36
  • 10Dvorák: String Quartet in F Major, Op.96, "American": II. Lento06:56
  • 11Dvorák: String Quartet in F Major, Op.96, "American": III. Molto vivace03:41
  • 12Dvorák: String Quartet in F Major, Op.96, "American": IV. Vivace, ma non troppo05:22
  • Total Runtime01:13:10

Info for Beethoven - Bartók - Dvorák: String Quartets

The Grammy Award-winning Juilliard String Quartet celebrates the 75th anniversary of its founding with a new recording from the heart of the quartet repertoire, featuring works by Beethoven, Bartók and Dvořák that resonate with the legacy of chamber music at the ensemble’s home, New York’s Juilliard School of Music.

Included are Ludwig van Beethoven’s String Quartet in E Minor, Op. 59, the second of the composer’s three “Razumovsky” quartets; Béla Bartók’s String Quartet No. 3, Sz. 87; and Antonín Dvořák’s String Quartet in F Major, Op. 96 “American.”

This recording is the first by the Juilliard String Quartet to include Areta Zhulla, who became its first violinist in 2018. Like her colleagues – Ronald Copes, second violin; Roger Tapping, viola; and Astrid Schween, cello – Zhulla also teaches at the Juilliard School, where the ensemble is in permanent residence.

Winner of four Grammy Awards – including a 2011 Lifetime Achievement Award, a unique achievement by a chamber ensemble – the Juilliard String Quartet has enjoyed international acclaim since its formation in 1946. A large part of its recorded legacy since 1949 is available on Sony Classical, including groundbreaking, Grammy-winning cycles of the Beethoven and Bartók quartets.

In fact, all three works on the new recording reflect Juilliard’s rich and influential legacy in chamber music. The Dvořák “American” Quartet – written in Spillville, IA, where the composer was summering with the Czech community there – received its world premiere in Boston in 1894 by the Kneisel Quartet. Just over a decade later, that ensemble’s founder, the violinist Franz Kneisel, would become the first head the violin department at the newly formed Institute of Musical Arts, later renamed the Juilliard School of Music.

Recent reviews attest to the current Quartet’s vigorous renewal of its distinguished tradition, which led the Boston Globe to describe it as “the most important American quartet in history.”

“What particularly stood out in this performance was the way in which this diversified foursome is reclaiming some of the old Juilliard Quartet verve,” wrote Strings Magazine’s critic of a 2019 performance. The same year, a Washington Post review hailed one of the Quartet’s performances as “decisive and uncompromising,” noting that “Juilliard’s confidently thoughtful approach, rhythmic acuity and ensemble precision were on full display.”

Juilliard String Quartet

Juilliard String Quartet
widely known as the quintessential American string quartet, welcomes its new cellist, Astrid Schween, and celebrates its 70th anniversary during the 2016/17 season with return engagements in Philadelphia, San Francisco, Detroit, Toronto, Louisville, Cleveland, Tucson, and New York’s Alice Tully Hall. The JSQ premieres Fragments, String Quartet No. 6 by renowned Argentine-American composer Mario Davidovsky, jointly commissioned by the Arizona Friends of Chamber Music and the Juilliard School. In January, the Quartet tours Spain, the Netherlands, Germany, Austria, and Turkey, including appearances at the Muziekgebouw in Amsterdam, the Musikverein in Vienna, and the Berlin Konzerthaus.

Last season, a yearlong celebration of Joel Krosnick’s remarkable 42-year tenure as cellist of the JSQ, featured tours of Asia and Europe, concerts throughout the US and Canada, as well as special performances of the Schubert Cello Quintet with Astrid Schween in Detroit, New York City, and at the Ravinia Festival. In 2015 the Quartet was featured in the groundbreaking interactive app on Schubert’s “Death and the Maiden” Quartet, released by the innovative app developer, Touchpress, in collaboration with the Juilliard School.

The Quartet’s recordings of the Bartok and Schoenberg Quartets, as well as those of Debussy, Ravel and Beethoven won Grammy Awards, and in 2011 the Quartet became the first classical music ensemble to receive a Lifetime Achievement Award from the National Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences. In 2014 Sony Classical reissued the Quartet’s landmark recordings of the first four Elliott Carter String Quartets together with the more recently recorded Carter Quartet No. 5, making a complete historical document. Devoted master teachers, the members of the Juilliard String Quartet offer classes and open rehearsals when on tour. At the Juilliard School, where they are the String Quartet in Residence, all are sought-after members of the string and chamber music faculty and annually, in May, they are hosts of the 5-day Internationally recognized Juilliard String Quartet Seminar.

In performance, recordings and incomparable work educating the major artists and quartets of our time, the Juilliard String Quartet has carried the banner of the United States and The Juilliard School throughout the world.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2021 HIGHRESAUDIO