Mompou: Misteriós, Transcriptions for Guitar, Vol. 1 Marco Ramelli

Cover Mompou: Misteriós, Transcriptions for Guitar, Vol. 1

Album info



Label: Brilliant Classics

Genre: Guitar

Subgenre: Classical Guitar

Artist: Marco Ramelli

Composer: Federico Mompou (1893-1987)

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 48 $ 13.20
  • Federico Mompou (1893 - 1987): Canción y danza I:
  • 1Mompou: Canción y danza I (transcribed by James Beneteau)02:46
  • Canción y danza II:
  • 2Mompou: Canción y danza II (transcribed by James Beneteau)02:48
  • Canción IX:
  • 3Mompou: Canción IX (transcribed by James Beneteau)02:23
  • Canción y Danza IV:
  • 4Mompou: Canción y Danza IV (transcribed by James Beneteau)04:37
  • Canción y Danza V:
  • 5Mompou: Canción y Danza V (transcribed by James Beneteau)04:39
  • Cants magic's:
  • 6Mompou: Cants magic's: IV. Misteriós (transcribed by James Beneteau)02:43
  • Prélude V:
  • 7Mompou: Prélude V (transcribed by James Beneteau)02:38
  • Prélude VI:
  • 8Mompou: Prélude VI (transcribed by James Beneteau)03:58
  • Prélude VIII:
  • 9Mompou: Prélude VIII (transcribed by James Beneteau)02:20
  • Prélude II:
  • 10Mompou: Prélude II (transcribed by James Beneteau)05:13
  • Impresiones intimas I:
  • 11Mompou: Impresiones intimas I (transcribed by James Beneteau)00:57
  • Impresiones intimas II:
  • 12Mompou: Impresiones intimas II (transcribed by James Beneteau)02:07
  • Impresiones intimas III:
  • 13Mompou: Impresiones intimas III (transcribed by James Beneteau)00:38
  • Pájaro triste:
  • 14Mompou: Pájaro triste (transcribed by James Beneteau)02:56
  • La barca:
  • 15Mompou: La barca (transcribed by James Beneteau)01:47
  • Cuna:
  • 16Mompou: Cuna (transcribed by James Beneteau)03:01
  • Secreto:
  • 17Mompou: Secreto (transcribed by James Beneteau)02:03
  • Pensaments:
  • 18Mompou: Pensaments (transcribed by James Beneteau)02:53
  • Camí de muntanya:
  • 19Mompou: Camí de muntanya (transcribed by James Beneteau)01:06
  • L'eco:
  • 20Mompou: L'eco (transcribed by James Beneteau)01:25
  • El camí del jardí:
  • 21Mompou: El camí del jardí (transcribed by James Beneteau)00:49
  • Dos petits preludis:
  • 22Mompou: Dos petits preludis: I. Oració d'ermita (transcribed by James Beneteau)01:30
  • 23Mompou: Dos petits preludis: Il-lusió (transcribed by James Beneteau)01:38
  • Pastoral:
  • 24Mompou: Pastoral (transcribed by James Beneteau)01:28
  • Preludi:
  • 25Mompou: Preludi (transcribed by James Beneteau)01:49
  • From Marguerite Long, la petite méthode de piano:
  • 26Mompou: From Marguerite Long, la petite méthode de piano: I. Sur la pointe des pieds (transcribed by James Beneteau)00:57
  • Total Runtime01:01:09

Info for Mompou: Misteriós, Transcriptions for Guitar, Vol. 1

This album is dedicated to the compositions of Federico Mompou, a composer and pianist of profound sensitivity. He exhibited an early inclination for the piano but, inspired by a Gabriel Fauré concert, he shifted his focus to composition, making his way to Paris to further his study. Mompou’s compositional approach was channelled through the piano, which he considered a fundamental tool for connecting with music’s essence, so he composed primarily on and for the instrument. There are some exceptions, however: notably his guitar compositions Suite Compostelana (1962) and Cançon i Dansa No.13 (1972).

In the guitar’s melancholic and evocative timbre, Mompou discovered an ideal medium to express his contemplative and gentle poetic world. The guitar becomes the canvas where sound and silence intertwine, evoking emotionscapable of transporting the listener to archaic places suspended in time.

In 2018, Brilliant Classics released Ramelli’s recording of Mompou’s original guitar compositions. This new album furthers his exploration of the composer’s works, taking his piano compositions and reimagining them for the guitar. The collaboration between the guitarist and James Beneteau, who presented Ramelli with these exquisite transcriptions of Mompou’s pieces, has been profound.

Throughout the transcription journey, Ramelli and Beneteau followed Mompou’s scores as a map, transmuting each piece through the lens of contact with the geography of the guitar’s unique resonance. Decisions about transcription, instrumentaltechnique, tempo, and dynamics are all intertwined with this listening to the instrument itself. Playing Mompou’s music transcribed for guitar is a journey aimed at heightened listening and sensitivity, exploring the spaces between notes through tactile contact with the instrument. This recording captures this creative process and marks the beginning of this ongoing artistic journey.

Marco Ramelli, classical guitar

Marco Ramelli
Born in Milan (Italy), Marco Ramelli is a guitarist, composer, academic and lecturer TU Dublin Conservatoire. Marco has performed in important venues and festivals all over Europe. During his career, he has been awarded various first Prizes in international competitions in Italy, Spain, UK, France and Serbia. As a composer, Marco won the "World Guitar Composition Competition", and his music is performed regularly by internationally acclaimed soloists. Marco Ramelli has recorded on the labels Nimbus Alliance, Brilliant Classics, Pilfink records, Naxos, and Dynamic records, including the complete solo guitar music by Federico Mompou and Roberto Gerhard. A keen advocate of contemporary music, Marco commissions and premiere regularly compositions for solo and chamber music.

But his dedication to music is not only confined to his performances: Marco is also Artistic Director of some music festivals in Italy, Czech and Ireland - for instance the increasingly important Festival Corde d'Autunno in Milan and TouchTheSound Project, Dublin Guitar Symposium -as well as a very enthusiastic guitar teacher. From 2004 to 2020 he inspired the creation of more than one hundred events.

Marco obtained a doctorate in performing arts as composer and performer from the University of St Andrews (UK) with a portfolio entitled 'The Composer and the Performer: An Intertwined Relationship'. In 2022, he published a chapter in the book 'Roberto Gerhard: re-appraising a musical visionary' released by Oxford University Press. He is regularly invited to give lecture recitals, workshops and masterclasses at festivals and university worldwide in addition to presenting regularly at international conferences and acting as jury member for competitions.

Booklet for Mompou: Misteriós, Transcriptions for Guitar, Vol. 1

© 2010-2024 HIGHRESAUDIO