The Cello Suites Petrit Ceku

Cover The Cello Suites

Album info



Label: Eudora Records

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Instrumental

Artist: Petrit Ceku

Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 14.40
FLAC 192 $ 17.20
MQA $ 17.20
DSD 64 $ 17.20
  • Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750): Suite BWV 1007
  • 1Suite BWV 1007: I. Prelude02:37
  • 2Suite BWV 1007: II. Allemande04:46
  • 3Suite BWV 1007: III. Courante02:41
  • 4Suite BWV 1007: IV. Sarabande02:55
  • 5Suite BWV 1007: V. Menuet I/II03:15
  • 6Suite BWV 1007: VI. Gigue01:47
  • Suite BWV 1008
  • 7Suite BWV 1008: I. Prelude03:33
  • 8Suite BWV 1008: II. Allemande03:28
  • 9Suite BWV 1008: III. Courante02:07
  • 10Suite BWV 1008: IV. Sarabande04:03
  • 11Suite BWV 1008: V. Menuet I/II02:52
  • 12Suite BWV 1008: VI. Gigue02:32
  • Suite BWV 1009
  • 13Suite BWV 1009: I. Prelude03:59
  • 14Suite BWV 1009: II. Allemande04:04
  • 15Suite BWV 1009: III. Courante03:18
  • 16Suite BWV 1009: IV. Sarabande03:59
  • 17Suite BWV 1009: V. Bourree I/II03:48
  • 18Suite BWV 1009: VI. Gigue03:13
  • Suite BWV 1010
  • 19Suite BWV 1010: I. Prelude03:55
  • 20Suite BWV 1010: II. Allemande04:30
  • 21Suite BWV 1010: III. Courante03:28
  • 22Suite BWV 1010: IV. Sarabande04:14
  • 23Suite BWV 1010: V. Bourree I/II04:53
  • 24Suite BWV 1010: VI. Gigue02:52
  • Suite BWV 1011
  • 25Suite BWV 1011: I. Prelude05:27
  • 26Suite BWV 1011: II. Allemande05:19
  • 27Suite BWV 1011: III. Courante02:14
  • 28Suite BWV 1011: IV. Sarabande03:00
  • 29Suite BWV 1011: V. Gavotte I/II04:29
  • 30Suite BWV 1011: VI. Gigue02:16
  • Suite BWV 1012
  • 31Suite BWV 1012: I. Prelude04:53
  • 32Suite BWV 1012: II. Allemande06:58
  • 33Suite BWV 1012: III. Courante03:56
  • 34Suite BWV 1012: IV. Sarabande04:08
  • 35Suite BWV 1012: V. Gavotte I/II04:00
  • 36Suite BWV 1012: VI. Gigue03:56
  • Total Runtime02:13:25

Info for The Cello Suites

First prizewinner of the prestigious Parkening International Guitar Competition, Petrit Çeku is regarded as one of the greatest guitarists of his generation and his exquisite sensibility and expressiveness have attracted and engaged audiences worldwide. Bach cello suites have become a monument and are often revisited by cellists and guitarist, but in this recording, Çeku gives an amazing rendition of these works in the extraordinary arrangement of cellist Valter Despalj.

Recorded in the 13th Century Spanish church of San Francisco, in Ávila, Spain, Petrit Çeku’s vision of Bach’s suites is very personal, seductive, nuanced yet passionate: a wonderful revelation.

Petrit Ceku, guitar

Petrit Ceku
Petrit Çeku’s exquisite sensibility and expressiveness have attracted and engaged audiences worldwide. He has performed many recitals throughout Europe and North America and was a soloist with major symphonic orchestras such as Baltimore Symphony, Czech Chamber Philharmonic, State Hermitage Orchestra of St. Petersburg and Zagreb Philharmonic. He also appears regularly with the famed string ensemble Zagreb Soloists and is a founding member of Guitar Trio Elogio, established in 2008.

Hailed by guitar critic Colin Cooper as “a soloist of the highest ability”, Çeku is the first prize winner of many international guitar competitions, including the most prestigious ones like Parkening (Malibu, USA), Schadt (Allentown, USA), Biasini (Bologna, Italy), and Pittaluga (Alessandria, Italy).

Born in 1985 in Prizren, Kosovo, Çeku took his first guitar lessons with Luan Sapunxhiu. In 2002 he moved to Zagreb, Croatia, after receiving an invitation to study with Xhevdet Sahatxhija. In 2008, Çeku graduated from the Zagreb Academy of Music, in the renowned class of Darko Petrinjak. He then went on to study with the great master, Manuel Barrueco, at the Peabody Conservatory in Baltimore USA, where he completed his studies in 2013. Çeku's first CD was released in 2008 by Naxos. In 2016 the Spanish label Eudora will issue his recording of all six Bach Cello Suites, arranged by Valter Dešpalj.

Petrit Çeku plays on a Ross Gutmeier guitar.

Booklet for The Cello Suites

© 2010-2022 HIGHRESAUDIO