Six Trio Sonatas for Oboe, Violin and B.C. Ensemble Amalthée

Cover Six Trio Sonatas for Oboe, Violin and B.C.

Album info



Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 13.50
FLAC 192 $ 15.80
DSD 64 $ 15.80
  • G.F. Haendel (1685 - 1759): Sonate Nr. 1 B-Dur, HWV 380:
  • 1Adagio02:18
  • 2Allegro02:22
  • 3Largo03:58
  • 4Allegro03:58
  • Sonate Nr. 2 d-Moll, HWV 381:
  • 5Adagio02:09
  • 6Allegro 101:50
  • 7Affettuoso01:47
  • 8Allegro04:15
  • Sonate Nr. 3 Eb-Dur, HWV 382:
  • 9Adagio02:34
  • 10Alle breve02:10
  • 11Andante02:52
  • 12Allegro04:04
  • Sonate Nr. 4 F-Dur, HWV 383:
  • 13Adagio02:28
  • 14Allegro01:52
  • 15Largo02:09
  • 16Allegro03:31
  • Sonate Nr. 5 G-Dur, HWV 384:
  • 17Adagio02:02
  • 18Allegro01:17
  • 19Grave01:02
  • 20Allegro02:56
  • Sonate Nr. 6 F-Dur, HWV 385:
  • 21Adagio02:45
  • 22Allegro02:36
  • 23Affettuoso01:52
  • 24Vivace02:18
  • Total Runtime01:01:05

Info for Six Trio Sonatas for Oboe, Violin and B.C.

In all likelihood these sonatas were written by Handel when he was around eleven years old, in 1696. At the time, he readily wrote for the oboe, which was, by his own admission, his favourite instrument; consequently, these sonatas were long considered to be works for two oboes; yet, the use of double strings in the first movement of the third sonata leads us to believe that the handwritten composition was for oboe and violin, two richly contrasting voices with complementary tones.

For the past four years and thanks to the Duke of Saxe-Weissenfels’ mediation with his family, Handel had been a pupil of the Halle organist Friedrich Wilhelm Zachow. This enlightened mind had already given him a very European musical culture, teaching him to compose and play the organ according to the different musical styles of the time. The trio sonatas HWV 380-385 are all composed following the model of the sonata da chiesa which had remained hugely fashionable since corelli's works: in four movements, slow-fast-slow-fast; they demonstrate a very strong and rigorous knowledge of counterpoint.

Ensemble Amalthée:
Joris Van den Hauwe, oboe
Caroline Chardonnet, violin
Godefroy Vujicic, cello
Olivier Chardonnet, organ

No biography found.

Booklet for Six Trio Sonatas for Oboe, Violin and B.C.

© 2010-2022 HIGHRESAUDIO