Tartini: 4-parts Sonatas and Sinfonias Il Demetrio & Maurizio Schiavo

Cover Tartini: 4-parts Sonatas and Sinfonias

Album info



Label: Brilliant Classics

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Chamber Music

Artist: Il Demetrio & Maurizio Schiavo

Composer: Giuseppe Tartini (1692-1770)

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 44.1 $ 11.30
  • Giuseppe Tartini (1692 - 1770): Violin Sonata in C Major, B.B4:
  • 1Violin Sonata in C Major, B.B4: I. Vivace05:51
  • 2Violin Sonata in C Major, B.B4: II. Andante ma lento assai05:03
  • 3Violin Sonata in C Major, B.B4: III. Allegretto02:35
  • Violin Sonata in G Major:
  • 4Violin Sonata in G Major: I. Presto03:26
  • 5Violin Sonata in G Major: II. Andante02:49
  • 6Violin Sonata in G Major: III. Allegro assai02:12
  • Violin Sonata in D Major:
  • 7Violin Sonata in D Major: I. Allegro assai03:19
  • 8Violin Sonata in D Major: II. Larghetto04:10
  • 9Violin Sonata in D Major: III. Allegro02:49
  • Violin Sonata in A Major:
  • 10Violin Sonata in A Major: I. Allegro assai04:53
  • 11Violin Sonata in A Major: II. Andante assai04:18
  • 12Violin Sonata in A Major: III. Menuett. Allegro assai01:36
  • Violin Sonata in D Major (2):
  • 13Violin Sonata in D Major (2): I. Allegro assai03:47
  • 14Violin Sonata in D Major: II. Andante03:54
  • 15Violin Sonata in D Major: III. Presto03:09
  • Total Runtime53:51

Info for Tartini: 4-parts Sonatas and Sinfonias

Dynamic and colourful performances of stylish but little-known Baroque repertoire from an exciting Italian period-instrument ensemble.

‘This is an important release,’ remarked MusicWeb International of the sacred music by Tarquinio Merula (BC95270) which is one of several Brilliant Classics releases by the Ensemble Il Demetrio to receive international attention and critical praise. The Italian website CDClassico.com echoed this verdict: ‘This is not the usual Christmas compilation (though it would fulfil that function very well). Instead it is an important record, dedicated to a monumental figure of 17th century music… The wide range of expressive possibilities in these works is fully explored, developed well beyond a simple reading… Hats off to Maurizio Schiavo and the excellent vocal soloists who joined him in this fine production.’

On their latest album, Schiavo and his ensemble dedicate their energies to the 18th-century virtuoso and composer, born on the coast of what is now Slovenia, who became a reference point for violin-playing in Venice, in Padua and then across Europe. The four-part sonatas and sinfonias for strings gathered here may not have been ‘chamber music’ in the pure sense of the term as we understand it today, but these highly attractive works certainly played a seminal role in the development of the genre before it was crystallised by Haydn and Boccherini in the form of the string quartet.

Some of the sonatas are recorded with basso continuo in the Baroque style, some without; all of them have a lively, galant style, abounding in the kind of elaborate violin figurations that made Tartini famous with his ‘Devil’s Trill’ Sonata. There are close-knit dialogues and intricate imitations as well as gravely beautiful slow movements; anyone who wishes to join the dots between Bach and Haydn will delight in the scholarly and stylish work of Il Demetrio.

Giuseppe Tartini (Pirano d'Istria 1692 - Padua 1770) was a virtuoso violinist, composer, theoretician and teacher, a spider in the international cultural web in a time when Italy was the centre of the musical world, his violin school, the “School of Nations”, attracted musicians from all over Europe.

Tartini’s 4 part Sonatas & Sinfonias are modeled in 3 movements, fast-slow-fast, and bear witness of the incredible skill of Tartini’s string playing, they are highly melodious works of great beauty and charm. The quartets for 4 parts are not strictly String Quartets in the classical sense as they include a basso continuo, suggesting a concertante or symphonic performance practice. The present recording also explores the option of playing without continuo (harpsichord), thus creating a true classical string quartet. The Italian group Il Demetrio is dedicated to explore hidden treasures from the Baroque, having discovered and performed works by Myslivecek, Rolla, Cagnoni and others. They collaborated with famous soloists like Giovanni Sollima and Avi Avital. The extensive liner notes are written by a musicologist.

Ensemble Il Demetrio
Maurizio Schiavo, violin

Il Demetrio
ensemble founded in Pavia by Maurizio Schiavo, is one of the most lively and successful experiments in the Italian music panorama. The ensemble is specialized in baroque music and it stands out for its musicological research and for performing hitherto unknown works of the Italian repertoire. Among these rediscovered works, the opera Il Demetrio by J. Myslivecek; the Dixit Dominus, for soloists, choir and orchestra and the Tantum ergo, for bass, viola concertante and orchestra by A. Rolla; and Tre composizioni per la Settimana Santa (Adoramus te, Miserere e Christus factus est) for choir and string orchestra by A. Cagnoni. Il Demetrio ensemble is also dedicated to more recent repertoire, often suggesting curious and unusual programs (such as Paesaggi sonori, a collection of scores for silent lms by F. Vittadini, a composer and conductor born in Pavia) and organizing special events such as Lennon barocco, a concert programme featuring the most famous hits by the ex-Beatle John Lennon revisited in baroque fashion.

Maurizio Schiavo
took up musical studies in Ferrara, his birthplace, where he was initiated to the Violin by G. Adamo. After graduating with full marks under the guidance of S. Cicero, he studied baroque violin with E. Gatti, baroque viola and viola d’amore with M. Righini, composition with E. Sollima and with N. Castiglioni at the Milan Conservatory, where he graduated also in orchestral conducting (with G. Taverna) and opera conducting (with U. Cattini). With the ensemble Il Demetrio, which he founded, he performs baroque and classical repertoires, performing both as conductor and soloist. In additon, Maurizio Schiavo is also involved in musicological research. He has edited and performed works by B. M. Meda, A. Draghi, F. Corselli, J. A. Hasse, J. Myslivecek, G. B. Fioroni, A. Cagnoni and A. Rolla. He has contributed to a number of recordings both as instrumentalist and conductor, among which, as conductor, the rst recording of the Arie per soprano e orchestra (Il Quaderno dell’Imperatrice) by Farinelli and the Mottetti per alto e archi by J. A. Hasse. Maurizio Schiavo was artistic director of Armonie sul lago, a festival devoted to the rediscovery of Italian sacred and profane music of the 18th century.

Booklet for Tartini: 4-parts Sonatas and Sinfonias

© 2010-2021 HIGHRESAUDIO