Marc-Antoine Charpentier: Pastorale sur la naissance de Notre Seigneur Jésus-Christ Ensemble Correspondances & Sébastien Daucé

Cover Marc-Antoine Charpentier: Pastorale sur la naissance de Notre Seigneur Jésus-Christ

Album info



Label: harmonia mundi

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Chamber Music

Artist: Ensemble Correspondances & Sébastien Daucé

Composer: Marc-Antoine Charpentier (1643-1704)

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 88.2 $ 15.80
  • Marc-Antoine Charpentier (1643 - 1704): Pastorale: Première Partie Ouverture:
  • 1Ouverture (Première version)01:05
  • Première Partie, Scène 1:
  • 2Que nos soupirs, Seigneur, réveille tes bontés (Première version)01:33
  • 3Il est temps Seigneur que tu paraisses (Première version)02:57
  • 4Ecoutez-moi, peuple fidèle (Première version)02:18
  • 5Cieux, répandez notre rosée (Première version)02:09
  • 6Simphonie de la Nuit (Première version)04:21
  • Première Partie, Scène 2:
  • 7Régnez, calme profond (Première version)02:13
  • 8Dans ces lieux écartez (Première version)03:02
  • 9De l'univers entier, apprenez le bonheur (Première version)01:35
  • Première Partie, Scène 3:
  • 10Célestes compagnons (Première version)00:13
  • Première Partie, Scène 4:
  • 11Gloire dans les hauts lieux (Première version)01:15
  • 12Paix en terre (Première version)02:22
  • Seconde Partie, Scène 5:
  • 13Pasteurs, éveillez-vous (Première version)00:27
  • 14Hélas, cette brebis si chère (Première version)02:08
  • 15Heureuse, mille et mille fois (Première version)00:34
  • Seconde Partie, Scène 6:
  • 16Joignons nos flûtes (Première version)01:01
  • 17Sont-ce pas nos bergers ? (Première version)01:19
  • 18Cette nuit d'une vierge aussi pure que belle (Première version)01:18
  • 19Oui le loup infernal (Première version)00:28
  • 20Joignons nos flûtes (Première version)01:01
  • 21Ritournelle (Première version)00:48
  • 22C'est de l'homme aujourd'hui (Première version)01:44
  • Grandes Antiennes O de l'Avent, H. 36-43:
  • 23Grandes Antiennes O de l'Avent, H. 36-43: O Salutaris02:03
  • 24Grandes Antiennes O de l'Avent, H. 36-43: O Sapienta02:32
  • 25Grandes Antiennes O de l'Avent, H. 36-43: O Adonai01:58
  • 26Grandes Antiennes O de l'Avent, H. 36-43: O Radix Jesse01:43
  • 27Grandes Antiennes O de l'Avent, H. 36-43: Or nous dites Marie (Noël instrumental)02:37
  • 28Grandes Antiennes O de l'Avent, H. 36-43: O Clavis David02:03
  • 29Grandes Antiennes O de l'Avent, H. 36-43: O Oriens01:50
  • 30Grandes Antiennes O de l'Avent, H. 36-43: O Rex Gentium01:32
  • 31Grandes Antiennes O de l'Avent, H. 36-43: O Emmanuel01:27
  • 32Grandes Antiennes O de l'Avent, H. 36-43: Or nous dites Marie (Ballard)04:14
  • Seconde Partie, Scène 5 & 6:
  • 33Heureux bergers (Deuxieme version)02:30
  • Seconde Partie, Scène 6:
  • 34Mais qui ne serait pas touché (Deuxieme version)01:52
  • 35Non, l'haleine secourable (Deuxieme version)02:22
  • Seconde Partie, Scène 7:
  • 36Votre tendresse est équitable (Deuxieme version)01:43
  • 37Chantez donc à l'envie (Deuxieme version)00:50
  • 38Faisons de nos joyeux cantiques (Deuxieme version)01:18
  • 39Menuet de la Bergère (Deuxieme version)02:38
  • 40Ne laissons point sans louanges (Deuxieme version)01:42
  • 41Le Soleil recommence à dorer nos montagnes (Troisième version)02:13
  • 42Belle mais imparfaite figure (Troisième version)00:49
  • 43Oui Seigneur (Troisième version)00:46
  • 44Source de lumière et de grâce (Troisième version)04:24
  • Total Runtime01:20:57

Info for Marc-Antoine Charpentier: Pastorale sur la naissance de Notre Seigneur Jésus-Christ

In their first release on harmonia mundi France, Sébastien Daucé and his musicians present a sumptuous interpretation of the six-voice motets composed by Marc-Antoine Charpentier for the House of Guise. These works, headed by the Miserere, constitute an unexpected parenthesis in the music of the Grand Siècle. The creative genius, the inwardness and the intense fervour of a composer surrounded by his faithful company of singers and instrumentalists speak to us all the more intimately because Charpentier appears here as both copyist (the surviving scores are in his handwriting) and performer – he sang the haute-contre part.

Ensemble Correspondances
Sébastien Daucé, conductor

The ensemble Correspondances
presents mainly 17th century French sacred music; an era which saw produced a considerable number of masterpieces, some still unpublished, just waiting to be revived by young and passionate musicians.

Sébastien Daucé, the Artistic Director, and his musicians met while studying at the Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique de Lyon. A dedicated collaboration blossomed to unearth rare and neglected musical treasures, revealing, through their interpretation, a whole range of emotions within these works.

Since its formation in 2009, the ensemble has performed in France, Switzerland, Germany, Italia, Japan and South-America. Its first recording for Zig-Zag Territoires, O Maria !, featuring motets by Marc-Antoine Charpentier was released in 2010 to great critical acclaim (Choc de Classica Diapason découverte, Coup de cœur de l'Académie Charles Cros, ***** Fonoforum and Supersonic in Pizzicato). This was followed by L'Archange et le Lys, a collection of motets by Antoine Boësset, the first recorded anthology of the composer.

The ensemble has recently appeared at the Saintes festival, OudeMuziek festival in Utrecht, Easter Festival in Fontevraud, Printemps des Arts de Nantes, Nuremberg, Paris, Rome and Fribourg. They have recorded extensively for the radio: Bayerischer Rundfunk, Radio-France and Radio Suisse Romande. Highlights of the forthcoming season include festival d’Ambronay, Abbaye de Royaumont, festival de Lanvellec, and a Asian tour in April 2013.

Sébastien Daucé
After a specialized program at the National Conservatory of Music of Lyon, Sébastien Daucé played under the direction of Kenneth Weiss (Didon and Aeneas, Madrigal of Monteverdi), of Gabriel Garrido (Ercole Amante of Cavailli, in the Academy of Baroque Opera at Ambronay, and recently for the recording of another Cavalli opera, Gli Amori d’Apollo e Datne,) of Raphaël Pichon (Pygmalion), of Toni Ramon (Radio France), of Françoise Lasserre (Akademia) and Geoffroy Jourdain (The Crys of Paris).

He was the assistant of Kenneth Weiss’s for the 2006 and 2007 academies at the Festival d’Art Lyrique in Aix en Provence (France).

In 2006, he founded the Ensemble Correspondances. The first concerts of this ensemble, made up of young musicians from the National Conservatory of music of Lyon and of Paris, took place in France and in Switzerland. During this time, they were recorded and aired on the radio. The Ensemble Correspondances toured Japon in December 2009 ; and have played in some prestigious festivals (Pontoise, Saintes, Utrecht). Their two firsts Cds have been recorded on the ZigZag Territories label : they both received notable press such as Choc de Classica and a Diapason découverte. Sébastien Daucé has worked, as well in the past few years, on Marc-Antoine Charpentier; in which he has published in the Abbesses Editions, three operas, in collaboration with William Christie. From 2012, he is a teacher at the Pole Supérieur Paris-Boulogne.

Booklet for Marc-Antoine Charpentier: Pastorale sur la naissance de Notre Seigneur Jésus-Christ

© 2010-2023 HIGHRESAUDIO