Album info



Label: Decca Records US

Genre: Guitar

Subgenre: Classical Guitar

Artist: Plínio Fernandes

Composer: Heitor Villa-Lobos (1887-1959), Johann Sebastian Bach (1685–1750), Frederico Albanese, Sergio Assad (1952)

Album including Album cover

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • Paulinho Nogueira (1927 - 2003): Bachianinha No. 1:
  • 1Nogueira: Bachianinha No. 1 (Arr. for Guitar by Sérgio Assad)03:20
  • Luiz Gonzaga (1912 - 1989), Paulinho Nogueira: Bachianinha No. 2 / Araponga:
  • 2Gonzaga, Nogueira: Bachianinha No. 2 / Araponga (Arr. for Guitar by Sérgio Assad)02:36
  • Johann Sebastian Bach (1685 - 1750): Prelude, Fugue and Allegro in E-Flat Major, BWV 998:
  • 3Bach: Prelude, Fugue and Allegro in E-Flat Major, BWV 998: I. Prelude03:14
  • 4Bach: Prelude, Fugue and Allegro in E-Flat Major, BWV 998: II. Fugue06:54
  • 5Bach: Prelude, Fugue and Allegro in E-Flat Major, BWV 998: III. Allegro03:37
  • Sérgio Assad (b. 1952): Preludio Fuga e Vivace:
  • 6Assad: Preludio Fuga e Vivace: I. Preludio02:30
  • 7Assad: Preludio Fuga e Vivace: II. Fuga01:32
  • 8Assad: Preludio Fuga e Vivace: III. Vivace02:56
  • Mario Albanese (b. 1931): Jequibach:
  • 9Albanese: Jequibach (Arr. for Guitar by Sérgio Assad)02:38
  • Johann Sebastian Bach: Concerto in D Minor, BWV 974:
  • 10Bach: Concerto in D Minor, BWV 974: II. Adagio (Transc. for Guitar by Sérgio Assad)04:26
  • Heitor Villa-Lobos (1887 - 1959): Bachianas Brasileiras No. 4:
  • 11Villa-Lobos: Bachianas Brasileiras No. 4: I. Prelúdio (Introdução) (Arr. for Guitar by Sérgio Assad)03:23
  • Total Runtime37:06

Info for Bacheando

Acclaimed Brazilian guitar virtuoso Plínio Fernandes has announced his highly anticipated second album, "Bacheando", which will be released on 22 September by Decca Gold. On "Bacheando", Fernandes pays homage to centuries of art, exploring the enduring genius of J.S. Bach, the vibrant musical culture of Brazil and all the richness involved.

Plínio embarks on an exciting exploration of his favourite composer's legacy in "Bacheando". The dynamic heir to a tradition of extraordinary Brazilian musicians who sought inspiration in the music of the German master, he performs a harmonious blend of Bach's compositions alongside enchanting pieces by Brazilian greats such as Heitor Villa-Lobos, Paulinho Nogueira and Mário Albanese. He also collaborated with the legendary Brazilian guitarist and composer Sérgio Assad, who contributed an unpublished composition and several new arrangements to the album.

At the beating heart of "Bacheando" is the music of the revered master himself. Bach's "Prelude, Fugue and Allegro in E flat major, BWV 998" is one of the pillars of the classical guitar repertoire and is easily among Plínio Fernandes' favourite works. Equally essential is Bach's arrangement of the adagio from the "Concerto in D minor, BWV 974", originally written for oboe by the Italian Baroque composer Benedetto Marcello.

Bacheando" is a wide-ranging collaboration between Fernandes and Sérgio Assad, known as one half of the Assad duo (internationally known as the Assad Brothers). The album features the world premiere of Assad's original three-movement work "Prelude Fugue and Vivace", which is a dance-like Brazilian response to Bach's "Prelude, Fugue and Allegro in E-Flat Major, BWV 998", and includes a first in Assad's career as a composer: his first fugue. Assad also contributed four new solo guitar arrangements to the album, including a new mashup of Paulinho Nogueira's "Bachianinha No. 2" and Luiz Gonzaga's "Araponga".

Plínio established himself early on as a sophisticated musician, with a colourful, "gloriously rich" tone (as published by "Gramophone" magazine) already on display in his acclaimed debut album, "Saudade". As with previous generations of musicians, Bach was the key to Plínio's artistic formation. As a child in São Paulo, he loved the German composer's entire catalogue, from his solo works for violin and cello to his vocal music and masses.

Says Plínio Fernandes: "Being Brazilian and having grown up listening to Villa-Lobos, who had Bach as his main influence from outside, you can see a transcendental element of Bach's music in all of history. All those who came after were influenced by him".

Plínio Fernandes, a 29-year-old Brazilian guitarist from São Paulo currently living in London, has achieved significant acclaim and recognition in a remarkably short time. He was honoured with the prestigious Revelation category award at the 2023 Brazilian Music Awards and was recognised among Forbes' 30 Under 30 Brazil 2022 and Classic FM's Rising Stars 2022. In 2022, he also received the Young Artist Award from "Concerto" magazine.

His debut album, "Saudade", reached the top of the Billboard Traditional Albums chart and established him as a rising star in the world of classical music. Plínio Fernandes' extraordinary talent has led him to television appearances on BBC 1's "C à vous", "Imagine" and TV Globo's "Jornal Hoje".

Equal parts homage and innovation, "Bacheando" opens up dialogues between artists from different styles, regions and time periods, in a captivating journey across sound bridges.

Plínio Fernandes, classical guitar

Plínio Fernandes
Born into a family of musicians, Fernandes received his first guitar lessons from his father. At the age of 12, after winning national youth guitar competitions, he played as a guest soloist with the Campo Grande Symphony Orchestra and took private lessons in São Paulo from the renowned teacher Henrique Pinto and later, at 16, from Pinto’s student and protégé, Fabio Zanon. Fernandes then received a full scholarship to attend the International Campos do Jordão Winter Festival from 2011-2014. During that period, he gave recitals and performed in chamber concerts in some 35 cities throughout Brazil and Chile. Encouraged by his family and teachers, he made the move to London to pursue a career as a concert musician. His teachers at the Royal Academy of Music (2014-2020) included Zanon, Prof. Michael Lewin, Steve Goss, and David Russell, under a full scholarship funded by the Brazilian Ministry of Education.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2023 HIGHRESAUDIO