Schubert & Schumann: Sonata D. 960 - Davisdbündlertänze, op. 6 Javier Laso

Cover Schubert & Schumann: Sonata D. 960 - Davisdbündlertänze, op. 6

Album info



Label: Eudora Records

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Instrumental

Artist: Javier Laso

Composer: Franz Schubert (1797-1828), Robert Schumann (1810-1856)

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 192 $ 15.70
FLAC 96 $ 14.30
DSD 64 $ 16.60
MQA $ 15.70
  • Franz Schubert (1797 - 1828): Sonata in B flat major, D. 960:
  • 1Schubert: Sonata in B flat major, D. 960: I. Molto moderato22:03
  • 2Schubert: Sonata in B flat major, D. 960: II. Andante sostenuto09:13
  • 3Schubert: Sonata in B flat major, D. 960: III. Scherzo (Allegro vivace con delicatezza)04:15
  • 4Schubert: Sonata in B flat major, D. 960: IV. Allegro, ma non troppo09:07
  • Robert Schumann (1810 - 1856): Davidsbündlertänze, op. 6:
  • 5Schumann: Davidsbündlertänze, op. 6: I. Lebhaft01:51
  • 6Schumann: Davidsbündlertänze, op. 6: II. Innig01:54
  • 7Schumann: Davidsbündlertänze, op. 6: III. Mit Humor01:32
  • 8Schumann: Davidsbündlertänze, op. 6: IV. Ungeduldig00:52
  • 9Schumann: Davidsbündlertänze, op. 6: V. Einfach02:45
  • 10Schumann: Davidsbündlertänze, op. 6: VI. Sehr rasch01:59
  • 11Schumann: Davidsbündlertänze, op. 6: VII. Nicht schnell03:09
  • 12Schumann: Davidsbündlertänze, op. 6: VIII. Frisch00:55
  • 13Schumann: Davidsbündlertänze, op. 6: IX. Lebhaft01:27
  • 14Schumann: Davidsbündlertänze, op. 6: X. Balladenmässig. Sehr rasch01:40
  • 15Schumann: Davidsbündlertänze, op. 6: XI. Einfach01:48
  • 16Schumann: Davidsbündlertänze, op. 6: XII. Mit Humor00:43
  • 17Schumann: Davidsbündlertänze, op. 6: XIII. Wild und lustig01:52
  • 18Schumann: Davidsbündlertänze, op. 6: XIV. Zart und singend02:54
  • 19Schumann: Davidsbündlertänze, op. 6: XV. Frisch01:26
  • 20Schumann: Davidsbündlertänze, op. 6: XVI. Mit gutem Humor00:00
  • 21Schumann: Davidsbündlertänze, op. 6: XVII. Wie aus der Ferne04:51
  • 22Schumann: Davidsbündlertänze, op. 6: XVIII. Nicht schnell00:00
  • Total Runtime01:16:16

Info for Schubert & Schumann: Sonata D. 960 - Davisdbündlertänze, op. 6

Eudora Records is thrilled to welcome Javier Laso to the label. As the great pianist Josep Colom states in the accompanying liner notes, “Javier Laso is inspired”, for “he connects directly with the music, a music which shows us a mysterious place which extends beyond the vicissitudes of life and only a performer who sees that place can reveal it to us.”

The programme is a marvelous musical coupling: Schubert’s overwhelmingly moving last Piano Sonata D.960, written just a few weeks before his premature death, and Schumann’s Davidsbündlertänze op. 6, a Romantic and contrasting struggle between the two sides of the composer’s own musical and personal nature. Javier Laso’s rare and inspiring talent is in display in those passionate and insightful performances.

Producer & Recording Engineer Gonzalo Noqué tells us: “I can honestly say that this project is the one I’m most proud of to date. It is not only one of the best sounding albums I’ve done, but above all else, the performances are otherworldly. Javier Laso is simply a genius.”

Javier Laso, piano

Javier Laso
I was born in Fribourg (Switzerland) in 1975 and began my special relationship with music at an early age: my grandmother, Sara Guzmán, was a concert pianist and composer and taught my father to play. I spent my musical childhood practising and improvising with him. It was during those years that I learned the most important lesson: music is something more than the score – it’s a living creature and so needs to undergo constant change.​

​At twelve I gained a place at the Salamanca Conservatory, where I studied piano with Juan José Diego and Jacobo Ponce. With the help of Luis Ángel de Benito and Alejandro Yagüe I also developed my understanding of composition, which resulted in writing my first (and only) piano concerto. It was at this time that I met Almudena Cano, too, and her playing, lectures and advice were to have a decisive influence on my career. I graduated with honours in 1999 and decided to continue my studies at the Franz Liszt Academy in Budapest.

​I lived in Budapest for five years, studying under the tuition of Rita Wagner and Péter Nagy. Their teaching was invaluable and I knew it would always be with me: they opened up the path to my creativity. It was Ferenc Rados, however, who led me to discover a world in which a combination of spontaneity, improvisation and in-depth comprehension of the score can produce a unique musical experience.

In the last twenty years I’ve given many solo recitals, as well as appearing with chamber ensembles and as an orchestral soloist. I’ve made a number of recordings and currently teach piano at the Tenerife Conservatory, having previously taught at the Salamanca Conservatory.

​With the support of my esteemed friend Josep Colom, I recently made this new album for Eudora Records featuring music by Schubert and Schumann.

Booklet for Schubert & Schumann: Sonata D. 960 - Davisdbündlertänze, op. 6

© 2010-2022 HIGHRESAUDIO