A Prayer To The Dynamo / Suites from Sicario & The Theory of Everything Iceland Symphony Orchestra & Daníel Bjarnason

Album info



Label: Deutsche Grammophon (DG)

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Orchestral

Artist: Iceland Symphony Orchestra & Daníel Bjarnason

Composer: Jóhann Jóhannsson (1969)

Album including Album cover

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • Jóhann Jóhannsson (b. 1973): Suite from The Theory of Everything:
  • 1Jóhannsson: Suite from The Theory of Everything: I. A Model of the Universe01:27
  • 2Jóhannsson: Suite from The Theory of Everything: II. Domestic Pressures02:42
  • 3Jóhannsson: Suite from The Theory of Everything: III. The Origins of Time02:48
  • 4Jóhannsson: Suite from The Theory of Everything: IV. Forces of Attraction01:58
  • 5Jóhannsson: Suite from The Theory of Everything: V. Cambridge 196301:59
  • A Prayer To The Dynamo:
  • 6Jóhannsson: A Prayer To The Dynamo: Part 108:30
  • 7Jóhannsson: A Prayer To The Dynamo: Part 213:01
  • 8Jóhannsson: A Prayer To The Dynamo: Part 308:51
  • 9Jóhannsson: A Prayer To The Dynamo: Part 408:42
  • Suite from Sicario:
  • 10Jóhannsson: Suite from Sicario: I. Target01:51
  • 11Jóhannsson: Suite from Sicario: II. Desert Music04:09
  • 12Jóhannsson: Suite from Sicario: III. Melancholia04:45
  • Total Runtime01:00:43

Info for A Prayer To The Dynamo / Suites from Sicario & The Theory of Everything

Twice Oscar-nominated and winner of many awards for his film scores for "Arrival", "Sicario" or "The Theory of Everything", Icelandic composer Jóhann Jóhannsson (1969-2018) was known for his innovative and unique blend of classical and electronic elements. His original, profound and moving works for film and stage brought him worldwide fame and he is considered one of the most acclaimed film composers of the last decade.

"Jóhannsson's music leaves the impression of coming from a time capsule from a distant planet that is a mirror image of our own. His own absence now adds even more mystery and magic to his unique sound world." (Gramophone)

Resembling a lost symphony, the monumental orchestral work A Prayer to the Dynamo was inspired by Jóhannsson's great fascination with technology, especially the sound recordings of electrical equipment and generators he made at the Elliðaár power station in Iceland, which are deeply interwoven with the orchestral sound.

Deutsche Grammophon now releases the world premiere recording of his outstanding orchestral work, recorded by the Icelandic Symphony Orchestra conducted by Daníel Bjarnason. The album also includes two suites from Jóhannsson's soundtracks for "Sicario" and "The Discovery of Infinity".

Iceland Symphony Orchestra
Daníel Bjarnason, conductor

Daníel Bjarnason
Icelandic conductor and composer Daníel Bjarnason is currently artist in residence with the Iceland Symphony Orchestra. From season 16/17, Daniel will be composer in residence at the Muziekgebouw Frits Philips Eindhoven. A co-curator of the Los Angeles Philharmonic’s Reykjavik Festival, Daniel will be featured as both a conductor and composer in Los Angeles in April 2017.

Recent and upcoming commissions include works for the Los Angeles Philharmonic, Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra, Rambert Dance Company, Britten Sinfonia, Jennifer Koh, So Percussion, Calefax and the Calder Quartet. Daníel is writing his first opera for the Danish National Opera in Aarhus and will be premiered in August 2017 as part of the Aarhus – Culture Capital of Europe celebrations. Based on the Susanne Bier film Brothers, the opera will be directed by Kasper Holten, and Steffen Aarfing will create the stage design. The librettist is Kerstin Perski.

Daníel Bjarnason’s music has been described as “coming eerily close to defining classical music’s undefinable brave new world” (Time Out New York), under conductors such as Gustavo Dudamel, John Adams James Conlon, André de Ridder, Louis Langree and Ilan Volkov in venues such as Walt Disney Concert Hall, Lincoln Center, Harpa and the Barbican. Daníel’s versatility has also led to collaborations with a broad array of musicians outside the classical field including Sigur Rós, Brian Eno, Efterklang and Ben Frost.

Conducting engagements include appearances with the Los Angeles Philharmonic, NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchester, Iceland Symphony Orchestra, London Sinfonietta, Ulster Orchestra, Sinfonietta Cracovia, and The Icelandic Opera.

Bjarnason’s work has been recognised on numerous occasions at the the Icelandic Music Awards. This year with the Iceland Symphony Orchestra and Iceland Opera, he received the award for Best Performer for their performance of Peter Grimes. Previously he won Best Composer/Best Composition in 2010 for Processions and Composer of the Year, 2013 for his works The Isle Is Full of Noises and Over Light Earth. Also in 2013, he and Ben Frost won the Edda Award for best soundtrack for their score to film The Deep, directed by Baltasar Kormákur.

After studying piano, composition and conducting in Reykjavík, Daníel Bjarnason pursued further studies in orchestral conducting at University of Music Freiburg. Daniel is a member of Bedroom Community, the Icelandic record label and close-knit collective comprising nine like-minded, yet diverse musicians from different corners of the globe. Daníel Bjarnason is published by Peters Edition.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2023 HIGHRESAUDIO