Album info



Album including Album cover

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • Gabríel Ólafs (b. 1998):
  • 1Ólafs: Melodia Suite: Absent Minded (Orchestral Works Version)04:59
  • 2Ólafs: Melodia Suite: Filma (Orchestral Works Version)02:06
  • 3Ólafs: Islandus: Streymir04:00
  • 4Ólafs: Islandus: Solon I04:17
  • 5Ólafs: Islandus: Solon II03:20
  • 6Ólafs: Islandus: Flora I03:41
  • 7Ólafs: Islandus: Flora II “The Lily”03:47
  • 8Ólafs: Islandus: Flora III02:31
  • 9Ólafs: Islandus: The Drifter05:14
  • 10Ólafs: Islandus: Raven I “The Croak”02:49
  • 11Ólafs: Islandus: Raven II “The Caw”05:09
  • 12Ólafs: Fantasía for Cello and Orchestra04:02
  • 13Ólafs: Staircase Sonata (Orchestral Works Version)02:48
  • Total Runtime48:43

Info for Orchestral Works

Icelandic pianist and composer Gabríel Ólafs debuts the single, “Fantasía For Cello And Orchestra.” The cinematic track is from his upcoming album, Orchestral Works, set for release on May 24, 2024.

Recorded at the stunning Harpa Concert Hall by the Reykjavík Orkestra, conducted by Viktor Orri Árnason, the new album, Orchestral Works, celebrates Gabríel Ólafs’ first five years as a recording artist and professional composer. Thirteen of the compositions are presented here in brand new orchestral arrangements with works drawn from Gabríel’s solo albums Absent Minded, Solon Islandus, and Lullabies for Piano and Cello. Orchestral Works marks a milestone in the evolution of his artistry, adding a fresh twist to postmodern classical music, and his newfound love with the orchestra.

“It’s a modern sound using a traditional soundscape,” Gabriel says, explaining that he’s orchestrated his music for a chamber group of strings, woodwinds, horns, trombone, percussion, harp and piano. “It’s probably the biggest range I’ve ever had in terms of instrumentation to play with. It’s sonically interesting and at the emotional core it also has really strong, beautiful, memorable melodies.”

Gabríel’s four studio albums Absent Minded (2019), Piano Works (2020), Solon Islandus (2022), and Lullabies for Piano and Cello (2023) have garnered the young, 25-year-old, composer over 200-million streams to date. His work draws inspiration from Nordic folk traditions, poetry, and film.

"With Orchestral Works, Ólafs has taken not a step forward, but a leap; and he’s stuck the landing. Many composers take a lifetime to produce something so refined; these “greatest hits” now come across as a symphony. With every album, we grow more confident that we’ll be talking about the composer for decades to come." (Richard Allen,

Gabríel Ólafs, piano
Steinevy Sigurdardottir, cello
Reykjavík Orkestra
Viktor Orri Árnason, conductor

No biography found.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2024 HIGHRESAUDIO