Marteau, Vol. 4: Violin Concerto in C Major, Op. 18 & Serenade, Op. 20 Nicolas Koeckert, Deutsche Radio Philharmonie Orchestra & Raoul Grüneis

Cover Marteau, Vol. 4: Violin Concerto in C Major, Op. 18 & Serenade, Op. 20

Album info



Label: Solo Musica

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Concertos

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 48 $ 12.80
  • Henri Marteau (1874 - 1934): Violin Concerto in C Major, Op. 18:
  • 1Violin Concerto in C Major, Op. 18: I. Allegro risoluto - Allegro energico, ma non troppo23:09
  • 2Violin Concerto in C Major, Op. 18: II. Adagio10:45
  • 3Violin Concerto in C Major, Op. 18: III. Rondo. Allegro con fuoco, ma non troppo14:03
  • Serenade, Op. 20:
  • 4Serenade, Op. 20: I. Entrata02:38
  • 5Serenade, Op. 20: II. Adagietto03:47
  • 6Serenade, Op. 20: III. Scherzino02:32
  • 7Serenade, Op. 20: IV. Tema con variazioni07:33
  • Total Runtime01:04:27

Info for Marteau, Vol. 4: Violin Concerto in C Major, Op. 18 & Serenade, Op. 20

Henri Marteau (1874-1934) was one of the most important violin and violin teachers of the early twentieth century. His compositional work found little attention despite some respectable successes.

Since 1982, the International Music Center Haus Marteau of the district of Upper Franconia maintains the artistic legacy of the German-French Composer in the form of master classes for musical talents from all over the world, publications on life and work as well as recordings of selected compositions on phonograms.

Missing are the autograph and the orchestral libretto from Marteau’s Violin Concerto op. 18. Raoul Grüneis re-orchestrated the work with the help of the piano reduction and a rehearsal recording by the WDR Symphony Orchestra. Enthusiasm among the audience and critics awoke the premiere of this version. The work sends the listener more impressively home than many other violin concertos established in the repertoire, Torsten Kohlschein judged in the Freie Presse.

WORLDPREMIERE RECORDING: Nicolas Koeckert and the Radiophilharmonie Saarbrücken Kaiserslautern conducted by Raoul Grüneis presents a brilliant first recording of this work combined with the Serenade op. 20 released by Solo Musica.

Nicolas Koeckert, violin
Deutsche Radio Philharmonie
Raoul Grüneis, conductor

Nicolas Koeckert
was born in Munich into a well known musical family. The young violinist has played on important international stages for many years, performing a large share of the repertoire of violin concerti and important chamber works, from Baroque to contemporary, in partnership with great musical figures.

Already winner of the first Prize at the Novosibirsk International Competition for Young Violinists, and recipient of the Culture Prize of Novosibirsk, Nicolas Koeckert became the first German prizewinner at the famous International Tschaikovsky Competition in Moscow in 2002. In the same year he was recognised for his outstanding achievements as a violinist by the State of Bavaria, from whom he was awarded an artistic sponsorship. In 2003, he was a Prizewinner at the Montreal International Musical Competition.

Nicolas Koeckert has performed, amongst others, with famous conductors including Lawrence Foster, Sir Colin Davis, Michail Jurowski, Jonathan Nott, Andris Nelsons, Christoph Poppen and Saulius Sondeckis. He has played with leading orchestras such as the Bavarian Radio Symphony , the Royal Philharmonic London, the Bamberger Symphony, Montréal Symphony, the Russian National, the KBS Symphony and the São Paulo Symphony Orchestra.

He began his violin studies, age 16, at the Hochschule für Musik Würzburg with Prof. Grigori Zhislin. He then continued at the Musikhochschule Köln with Prof. Zakhar Bron, completing his studies with Distinction in 2007.

On the Naxos label, he has meanwhile an award winning discography, including his recording of Russian and Slavic arrangements by Fritz Kreisler, chosen as CD of the month by “The Strad” magazine. Other CD releases include works by Igor Frolov, the Khatchaturian Violinconcerto and the Concert Rhapsody with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra London under José Serebrier, and Pierre Rode Studies for Solo Violin and Violin Duo, performed with his father Rudolf Koeckert. In December 2017 he played the previously lost and presumed unplayable violin concerto by Henri Marteau, exclusively for CD with the German Radio Philharmonic Saarbrücken Kaiserslautern. This recording will appear in June 2018 on the Solo Musica label.

After a number of years teaching privately and giving international masterclasses, he was for 7 years university professor in Vienna at the Vienna Private University for Music and Art. His students were awarded prizes on several occasions including at the Tchaikovsky Competition for Young Musicians and the Postacchini, Osaka, Yampolsky, Jugend and prima la musica competitions. They have also gained orchestral positions, sometimes after successful orchestra academy positions, among others with the Berlin Philharmonic, the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra and the Concertgebouw Orchestra Amsterdam.

Nicolas Koeckert plays a Giovanni Battista Guadagnini violin made in Milan.

Booklet for Marteau, Vol. 4: Violin Concerto in C Major, Op. 18 & Serenade, Op. 20

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO