Cover The Art of Dancing - 21st Century Concertos

Album info



Label: Signum Classics

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Concertos

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 15.30
  • Toby Young (1963- ): The Art of Dancing:
  • 1I. Prelude02:41
  • 2II. Garage02:39
  • 3III. Acid House03:17
  • 4IV. Drum and Bass03:28
  • 5V. Trance05:12
  • 6VI. Breakbeat02:53
  • 7VII. Postlude01:42
  • Geoffrey Gordon (1968- ):
  • 8Saint Blue09:41
  • Deborah Pritchard (1977- ): 7 Halts on the Somme:
  • 9I. The Grand Mine01:57
  • 10II. Trônes Wood00:53
  • 11III. Pozières: The Moulin02:03
  • 12IV. Warlencourt Ridge01:42
  • 13V. The Sucrerie: Longueval01:12
  • 14VI. Flatiron Copse01:45
  • 15VII. Guillemont to Ginch02:49
  • Nimrod Borenstein (1969- ): Piano Concerto, Op. 74:
  • 16I. Allegro05:57
  • 17II. Adagio05:17
  • 18III. Allegro07:51
  • Total Runtime01:02:59

Info for The Art of Dancing - 21st Century Concertos

Simon Desbruslais returns to recording on Signum with an album that continues to expand the repertoire of the trumpet even further, with four new commissions for Trumpet, Piano and String Orchestra.

Toby Young’s The Art of Dancing is described by the composer as being ‘a modern homage to the baroque dance suite’, drawing inspiration from modern dance music styles including Acid House, Garage and Drum & Bass. Geoffrey Gordon’s Saint Blue is inspired by the visionary artist Wassily Kandinsky, creating a double concerto with a remarkable jazz-inspired cadenza between the trumpet, piano and double bass. Deborah Pritchard’s Seven Halts on the Somme responds to the series of oil paintings by artist Hughie O’Donoghue that mark seven stopping points for British troops during the Battle of the Somme – one of the most bloody conflicts of the First World War. Finally, Nimrod Borensteins’ Concerto for Piano, Trumpet and String Orchestra juxtaposes rhythms to create a multiplicity of different atmospheres in this highly effective and powerful work.

For these premiere recordings Simon Desbruslais performs with pianist Clare Hammond, accompanied by the English String Orchestra under Kenneth Woods

"Simon Debruslais continues to expand the repertoire of his instrument with four new commissions… creating a double concerto with a remarkable jazz inspired cadenza". (Norther Echo)

Simon Desbruslais, trumpet
Clare Hammond, piano
English String Orchestra
Kenneth Woods, conductor

No albums found.

No biography found.

Booklet for The Art of Dancing - 21st Century Concertos

© 2010-2018 HIGHRESAUDIO