Approaching Dutilleux Approaching Dutilleux Riot Ensemble

Cover Approaching Dutilleux Approaching Dutilleux

Album info



Label: Coviello Classics

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Chamber Music

Artist: Riot Ensemble, Aaron Holloway-Nahum, Jeremiah Cawley

Composer: Arlene Sierra (1970), Jose Manuel Serrano (1981), Arne Gieshoff (1988), Chris Roe (1975), Drew Schnurr, Jenna Lyle

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 48 $ 14.30
  • Arlene Sierra (1970)
  • 1Petite grue01:11
  • Jose Manuel Serrano (1981)
  • 2Cenizas de un Madrigal Triste05:40
  • Arne Gieshoff (1988)
  • 3Wucherung06:55
  • Chris Roe (1975):
  • 4Wired04:54
  • Drew Schnurr:
  • 5Lindas Wake17:21
  • Jenna Lyle
  • 6Falterer07:49
  • Total Runtime43:50

Info for Approaching Dutilleux Approaching Dutilleux

Approaching Dutilleux is a series of recordings taken from a concert project that took place in London and Cambridge in May 2014. Scheduled on the one-year anniversary of Henri Dutilleux’s death (22 May, 2013), five emerging composers from around the world were commissioned to write pieces inspired and/or informed by Dutilleux’s masterwork Les Citations.

Scored for Oboe, Percussion, Double Bass and Harpsichord, Les Citations (meaning “quotations”) has an array of musical quotations running through it – including Jehan Alain and Benjamin Britten. The resulting piece is constantly asking questions about memory, balance and the relationship of the old to the new.

This album brings together all five of these new works, with their many different visions of – and approaches to – Dutilleux, along with Arlene Sierra’s Petite Grue, written on the occasion of Dutilleux’s visit to Cardiff University in 2008.

Celeste Cronje, soprano
Rebecca Cass, oboe
James Leveridge, percussion
Goska Isphording, harpsichord
Enno Senft, double bass
Aaron Holloway-Nahum, direction
Jeremiah Cawley, direction (Roe)

The long-lived New York-based heavy metal band Riot was formed in 1976 by guitarist/songwriter Mark Reale, who in time recruited vocalist Guy Speranza, guitarist L.A. Kouvaris, bassist Jimmy Iommi and drummer Peter Bitelli. After debuting in 1977 with Rock City, Kouvaris was replaced by guitarist Rick Ventura, and the group returned in 1979 with Narita; Iommi and Bitelli were the next to exit, and with the recruitment of bassist Kip Leming and drummer Sandy Slavin the classic Riot line-up was in place. Tours in support of AC/DC and Molly Hatchet followed before the release of 1981's Fire Down Under, considered by fans the band's creative peak; with the departure of frontman Speranza, however, Riot suffered a major blow from which they never fully recovered. New vocalist Rhett Forrester made his debut on 1982's Restless Breed, but after issuing Made in America a year later. Reale announced the band's dissolution; after forming a new group, the Mark Reale Project, he reformed Riot in late 1986 with vocalist Tony Moore, bassist Don VanStavern and drummer Bobby Jarzombek. The new line-up's comeback effort, Thundersteel, appeared in 1988, followed two years later by The Privilege of Power; after adding second guitarist Mike Flyntz and replacing VanStavern with bassist Pete Perez, the group toured the Far East, yielding the LP Riot in Japan Live !!! in 1992. After 1994's Nightbreaker, Jarzombek quit Riot, and was replaced by drummer John Macaluso for 1996's The Brethren of the Long House; Jarzombek returned to the fold to release Inishmore two years later, with Sons of Society following in 1999. (Jason Ankeny, All Music Guide)

Booklet for Approaching Dutilleux Approaching Dutilleux

© 2010-2022 HIGHRESAUDIO