Small Stones: Modern Piano Music Nancy J. DeSalvo

Album info



Label: Navona

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Instrumental

Album including Album cover


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 44.1 $ 15.30
  • Jason Tad Howard (?): Piano Sonata No. 2 "9 Short Shorts":
  • 1No. 1, Pensive00:54
  • 2No. 2, Lyrical, with Intensity01:15
  • 3No. 3, Waltz-like, Agitato01:16
  • 4No. 4, Agitato00:47
  • 5No. 5, Dolce e cantabile01:54
  • 6No. 6, —01:34
  • 7No. 7, Sempre cantabile e legato02:00
  • 8No. 8, Cantabile01:15
  • 9No. 9, Reconciliation. A Not Quite So Short Short Short04:06
  • Daniel Perttu (?): Piano Sonata:
  • 10I. Allegro maestoso08:36
  • 11II. Misterioso06:02
  • 12III. Presto04:27
  • Total Runtime34:06

Info for Small Stones: Modern Piano Music

SMALL STONES showcases Dr. Nancy Zipay Desalvo’s exploration into both minute and immense concepts. Recorded on solo piano, DeSalvo performs the compositions translating the compressed beauty of Jason Tad Howard and the expansive universe of Daniel Perttu.

In the first half of the recording, Howard’s set of nine “short shorts” feature songs all under the two-minute mark (with the exception of his final track, “Reconciliation: A Not Quite So Short Short Short,” which runs just over four minutes long). Despite their short run times, each composition is satisfying. DeSalvo makes the melodies twinkle and shine in multidimensions like small diamonds.

Based around the pitch of “C,” each short short establishes its own character and technical approach while sharing the common thread of its pitch. The compositions ring with recurring themes in melody and rhythmic texture, coming together at the final “Short Short No. 9” which unveils a grand finale.

Born out of a visit to Stonehenge, Perttu’s compositions expand on the pebble of a simple vision into a larger, more complex structure. In her ambitious, emotional performance, DeSalvo is translating Perttu’s pursuit to achieve full comprehension of the mystical nature surrounding one of the Natural Wonders of the World.

Dr. Nancy Zipay DeSalvo, piano

Dr. Nancy Zipay DeSalvo
performs extensively as a soloist, a professional accompanying pianist (specializizng in string and saxophone repertoire), and a chamber music collaborator. She has been a guest soloist with the Hong Kong Philharmonic Orchestra, various University orchestras across the United States and is currently a pianist with the Youngstown Symphony Orchestra. She is an Associate Professor at Westminster College in New Wilmington, Pennsylvania where she teaches applied piano, vocal and instrumental accompanying/coaching, piano techniques courses, coaching students, capstone and music history. She has also served as the Chair of the Department of Music.

Dr. DeSalvo completed a Doctor of Musical Arts degree from the Cleveland Institute of Music/ Case Western Reserve University in Collaborative Piano, where she was a student of Anne Epperson. She and baritone singer Jason Fuh captured First Prize for their performance of Four Claudal Poems in the Darius Milhaud Performance Auditions held at the Cleveland Institute of Music. Dr. DeSalvo also received the Gwendolyn Koldofsky Award, given at the discretion of the Cleveland Institute of Music faculty to a Collaborative Piano major who has special aptitude for vocal accompanying and who exemplifies the important dual role of the profession – that of support, service and cooperation, balanced with professional skill and high standards of performance. Dr. DeSalvo received a Master of Music degree in Piano Performance from the Manhattan School of Music where she studied with Constance Keene and Artur Balsam. After completing the master’s degree she worked exclusively in the studio of renowned violin teacher Dorothy Delay at the Juilliard School of Music as a collaborative pianist. She also held the position of Artist-in-Residence at the Bay View Music Festival in northern Michigan. Recently her recording of two new piano sonatas by Daniel Perttu and Jason Howard has been accepted for expected comercial release in February, 2018.

Nancy Zipay DeSalvo was added to the Steinway Artist roster in 2002.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO