Campagnoli: 6 Flute Quartets Il Demetrio & Maurizio Schiavo

Cover Campagnoli: 6 Flute Quartets

Album info



Label: Brilliant Classics

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Chamber Music

Artist: Il Demetrio & Maurizio Schiavo

Composer: Bartolomeo Campagnoli

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 44.1 $ 11.30
  • Bartolomeo Campagnoli (1751-1827): Flute Quartet No. 1 in D Major:
  • 1Flute Quartet No. 1 in D Major: I. Allegro06:08
  • 2Flute Quartet No. 1 in D Major: II. Presto03:38
  • Flute Quartet No. 2 in C Major:
  • 3Flute Quartet No. 2 in C Major: I. Allegro06:11
  • 4Flute Quartet No. 2 in C Major: II. Romance. Andante03:31
  • 5Flute Quartet No. 2 in C Major: III. Rondo03:19
  • Flute Quartet No. 3 in G Major:
  • 6Flute Quartet No. 3 in G Major: I. Allegro06:51
  • 7Flute Quartet No. 3 in G Major: II. Allegro con variazioni06:54
  • Flute Quartet No. 4 in E Minor:
  • 8Flute Quartet No. 4 in E Minor: I. Allegro espressivo05:48
  • 9Flute Quartet No. 4 in E Minor: II. Andante grazioso02:52
  • 10Flute Quartet No. 4 in E Minor: III. Allegro assai04:28
  • Flute Quartet No. 5 in F Major:
  • 11Flute Quartet No. 5 in F Major: I. Allegro06:10
  • 12Flute Quartet No. 5 in F Major: II. Rondo grazioso03:44
  • Flute Quartet No. 6 in B-Flat Major:
  • 13Flute Quartet No. 6 in B-Flat Major: I. Allegro06:51
  • 14Flute Quartet No. 6 in B-Flat Major: II. Rondo02:07
  • Total Runtime01:08:32

Info for Campagnoli: 6 Flute Quartets

Bartolomeo Campagnoli (1751-1827) was a violinist by training, who worked in the courts and capitals of Baroque-era Europe, with posts in Rome, Dresden and then (from 1979 to 1818) in Leipzig, where he was leader of the venerable Gewandhaus orchestra.

Thus most of his own compositions are for strings, focused on his own instrument, and often with pedagogical or commercial aims in mind, such as the 41 Capricci for solo viola and the 7 Divertimenti for solo violin. There is also an extensive Method – in 132 separate lessons! – which was first published by Ricordi in 1797, and reprinted and translated many times.

It was around this time that he wrote the six delightful, serenade-like works on this album, scored for flute and string trio. Often the flute engages in vivacious dialogue with the upper voice of the trio, within the tradition of similar works by Tartini, Rolla and Mercadante. The predominant mood is light, the expression airy and untroubled. The exception to this is the Fourth Sonata in E minor – the only minor-key quartet of the set, and the only one cast in three movements, with a central Andante grazioso of a suave gravity that would not have disgraced the young Mozart.

Founded by the violinist Maurizio Schiavo, the ensemble Il Demetrio is a historically informed chamber group specialising in music of the Baroque era, undertaking much original research of their own to unearth little-known compositions from Italian libraries. Their previous recordings on Brilliant Classics include flute quartets by Paisiello (BC95268) and a disc of sacred music by Merula (BC95270).

The disc has only one rival in the recording catalogues; it also forms a delightful counterpart to the previous volume of the composer’s music on Brilliant Classics, a collection of six string quartets played by Ensemble Symposium (BC95037).

Bartolomeo Campagnoli (1751-1827) learned his trade with famous Italian musicians Tartini and Nardini. As a virtuoso on the violin he traveled Europe, where he held several important posts in Freising (Bavaria), Dresden and Stockholm, before settling as Kapellmeister of the famous Gewandhausorchester in Leipzig.

Campagnoli claimed for himself “the German learnedness with Italian soul”, and his flute quartets, for the attractive combination of flute, violin, viola and cello, abound in lyrical melodies set into the firm musical structures of the first Viennese School. The Ensemble Il Demetrio plays on original instruments or copies of such, and have embraced the principles of the Historically Informed Performance Practice.

The booklet contains scholarly written liner notes in both English and Italian.

Gabriele Formenti, flute
Maurizio Schiavo, violin
Il Demetrio

Il Demetrio
ensemble founded in Pavia by Maurizio Schiavo, is one of the most lively and successful experiments in the Italian music panorama. The ensemble is specialized in baroque music and it stands out for its musicological research and for performing hitherto unknown works of the Italian repertoire. Among these rediscovered works, the opera Il Demetrio by J. Myslivecek; the Dixit Dominus, for soloists, choir and orchestra and the Tantum ergo, for bass, viola concertante and orchestra by A. Rolla; and Tre composizioni per la Settimana Santa (Adoramus te, Miserere e Christus factus est) for choir and string orchestra by A. Cagnoni. Il Demetrio ensemble is also dedicated to more recent repertoire, often suggesting curious and unusual programs (such as Paesaggi sonori, a collection of scores for silent lms by F. Vittadini, a composer and conductor born in Pavia) and organizing special events such as Lennon barocco, a concert programme featuring the most famous hits by the ex-Beatle John Lennon revisited in baroque fashion.

Maurizio Schiavo
took up musical studies in Ferrara, his birthplace, where he was initiated to the Violin by G. Adamo. After graduating with full marks under the guidance of S. Cicero, he studied baroque violin with E. Gatti, baroque viola and viola d’amore with M. Righini, composition with E. Sollima and with N. Castiglioni at the Milan Conservatory, where he graduated also in orchestral conducting (with G. Taverna) and opera conducting (with U. Cattini). With the ensemble Il Demetrio, which he founded, he performs baroque and classical repertoires, performing both as conductor and soloist. In additon, Maurizio Schiavo is also involved in musicological research. He has edited and performed works by B. M. Meda, A. Draghi, F. Corselli, J. A. Hasse, J. Myslivecek, G. B. Fioroni, A. Cagnoni and A. Rolla. He has contributed to a number of recordings both as instrumentalist and conductor, among which, as conductor, the rst recording of the Arie per soprano e orchestra (Il Quaderno dell’Imperatrice) by Farinelli and the Mottetti per alto e archi by J. A. Hasse. Maurizio Schiavo was artistic director of Armonie sul lago, a festival devoted to the rediscovery of Italian sacred and profane music of the 18th century.

Booklet for Campagnoli: 6 Flute Quartets

© 2010-2021 HIGHRESAUDIO