Burgess: The Bad-Tempered Electronic Keyboard Stephane Ginsburgh

Cover Burgess: The Bad-Tempered Electronic Keyboard

Album info



Label: Grand Piano

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Instrumental

Artist: Stephane Ginsburgh

Composer: Anthony Burgess (1917-1993)

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 13.20
  • Anthony Burgess (1917 - 1993): The Bad-Tempered Electronic Keyboard:
  • 1Prelude No. 1 in C Major00:43
  • 2Fugue No. 1 in C Major01:50
  • 3Prelude No. 2 in D-Flat Major00:43
  • 4Fugue No. 2 in D-Flat Major01:12
  • 5Prelude No. 3 in D Major01:33
  • 6Fugue No. 3 in D Major01:04
  • 7Prelude No. 4 in E-Flat Major01:02
  • 8Fugue No. 4 in E-Flat Major01:32
  • 9Prelude No. 5 in E Major01:22
  • 10Fugue No. 5 in E Major01:19
  • 11Prelude No. 6 in F Major00:47
  • 12Fugue No. 6 in F Major01:35
  • 13Prelude No. 7 in G-Flat Major00:54
  • 14Fugue No. 7 in G-Flat Major02:05
  • 15Prelude No. 8 in G Major01:50
  • 16Fugue No. 8 in G Major01:55
  • 17Prelude No. 9 in A-Flat Major01:26
  • 18Fugue No. 9 in A-Flat Major02:28
  • 19Prelude No. 10 in A Major00:45
  • 20Fugue No. 10 in A Major01:51
  • 21Prelude No. 11 in B-Flat Major00:33
  • 22Fugue No. 11 in B-Flat Major01:57
  • 23Prelude No. 12 in B Major03:31
  • 24Fugue No. 12 in B Major02:37
  • 25Prelude No. 13 in C Minor02:17
  • 26Fugue No. 13 in C Minor01:26
  • 27Prelude No. 14 in C-Sharp Minor01:12
  • 28Fugue No. 14 in C-Sharp Minor02:35
  • 29Prelude No. 15 in D Minor01:31
  • 30Fugue No. 15 in D Minor01:13
  • 31Prelude No. 16 in E-Flat Minor02:31
  • 32Fugue No. 16 in E-Flat Minor02:22
  • 33Prelude No. 17 in E Minor01:39
  • 34Fugue No. 17 in E Minor01:04
  • 35Prelude No. 18 in F Minor01:39
  • 36Fugue No. 18 in F Minor01:38
  • 37Prelude No. 19 in F-Sharp Minor00:29
  • 38Fugue No. 19 in F-Sharp Minor00:55
  • 39Prelude No. 20 in G Minor02:17
  • 40Fugue No. 20 in G Minor02:46
  • 41Prelude No. 21 in G-Sharp Minor02:06
  • 42Fugue No. 21 in G-Sharp Minor01:46
  • 43Prelude No. 22 in A Minor01:08
  • 44Fugue No. 22 in A Minor02:12
  • 45Prelude No. 23 in B-Flat Minor "Fantasia on B.A.C.H."03:03
  • 46Fugue No. 23 in B-Flat Minor01:20
  • 47Prelude No. 24 in B Minor02:15
  • 48Fugue No. 24 in B Minor03:33
  • 49Finale. Natale 198502:04
  • Total Runtime01:23:35

Info for Burgess: The Bad-Tempered Electronic Keyboard

Anthony Burgess, the world famous author of A Clockwork Orange, had been steeped in music since childhood, and during army service in the Second World War worked as a pianist and dance-band arranger. He wrote prolifically in many genres. His 24 Preludes and Fugues, called The Bad-Tempered Electronic Keyboard, were written to celebrate the 300th anniversary of the birth of Johann Sebastian Bach. This ingenious and inventive piece, with its brief romantic and music hall elements, not only pays homage to Bach but also references the modernity of Shostakovich, whose own set of Preludes and Fugues had been written in 1950. This is the world premiere recording of these works. These pieces are performed by renowned contemporary music interpreter Stephane Ginsburgh.

Stephane Ginsburgh, piano

Stephane Ginsburgh
has been praised for his daring piano playing and appears regularly in recitals and chamber music worldwide and has performed at numerous festivals such as Ars Musica, Quincena Musical, ZKM Imatronic, Agora, Bach Academie Brugge, Ultima Oslo, Darmstadt Ferienkurse and Gaida (Vilnius).

A tireless surveyor of the repertoire but also exploring new combinations including voice, percussion, performance or electronics, he dedicates much of his energy to contemporary music. He regularly plays with the Ictus Ensemble under George-Elie Octors, has collaborated with many composers of whom he premiered works, as well as with choreographers and visual artists.

Stephane Ginsburgh recorded CDs for Sub Rosa label (Feldman, Duchamp, Satie, Fafchamps). He recorded the world premiere of two pieces by David Toub for World Edition. His Prokofiev complete piano sonatas are released by Cypres Records. His most recent release for Grand Piano/NAXOS is dedicated to the world premiere of the "Bad-Tempered Electronic Keyboard", a series of 24 Preludes and Fugues by the composer and writer Anthony Burgess.

After studying at the Conservatory, he worked with Paul Badura-Skoda, Claude Helffer, Jerome Lowenthal and Vitaly Margulis. He is a laureate of the Tenuto BRTN competition 1995 and has received the Pelemans Prize in 1999 from the Belgian composers union for his implication in performing Belgian contemporary music. In 1998, Stephane Ginsburgh co-founded SONAR (previously le Bureau des Arts), an active group of artists dedicated to different types of artistic expression and creation including music, dance and literature. He teaches piano at the Royal Music Conservatory and at the Dalcroze Institute, both in Brussels.

He studied philosophy of science at the Free University of Brussels (U.L.B.) and is pursuing a PhD in music at V.U.B./K.C.B.

Booklet for Burgess: The Bad-Tempered Electronic Keyboard

© 2010-2023 HIGHRESAUDIO