Kurpiński, Dobrzyński & Moniuszko: Orchestral Works Wrocław Baroque Orchestra & Jarosław Thiel

Cover Kurpiński, Dobrzyński & Moniuszko: Orchestral Works

Album info



Label: CD Accord

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Orchestral

Artist: Wrocław Baroque Orchestra & Jarosław Thiel

Composer: Ignacy Feliks Dobrzynski (1807-1867), Karol Kurpinski (1785-1857), Stanislaw Moniuszko (1819-1872)

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 14.90
  • Karol Kurpiński (1785 - 1857):
  • 1Kurpiński: Elegy in C Minor08:19
  • Ignacy Feliks Dobrzyński (1807 - 1867): Dobrzyński: Symphony No. 2 in C Minor, Op. 15:
  • 2Dobrzyński: Symphony No. 2 in C Minor, Op. 15: I. Andante sostenuto - Allegro vivace13:33
  • 3Dobrzyński: Symphony No. 2 in C Minor, Op. 15: II. Andante grazioso08:04
  • 4Dobrzyński: Symphony No. 2 in C Minor, Op. 15: III. Minuetto alla mazovienna. Allegro ma non troppo07:58
  • 5Dobrzyński: Symphony No. 2 in C Minor, Op. 15: IV. Vivace assai08:28
  • Stanisław Moniuszko (1819 - 1872):
  • 6Moniuszko: Bajka13:14
  • Total Runtime59:36

Info for Kurpiński, Dobrzyński & Moniuszko: Orchestral Works

The protagonists of our recording lived and worked in a country that officially did not exist, dependent on the whims of sometimes less, sometimes more strict censors, dreamed of a career in a large, free Europe, and at the same time were doomed to struggle to raise the meagre level of local cultural life. Fate did not spare their legacy either – in the successive historical turmoil, a significant part of their output was destroyed or was subject to drastic fragmentation. And although we recorded this album 75 years after the end of World War II – the most tragic calamity in the history of Polish culture – and over 30 years after the fall of the communist dictatorship, the scale of the devastation was so great that it still has not been possible to recreate and bring back to concert life a significant part of the work of even those we consider to be the greatest, after Chopin, composers of the first half of the 19th century.

Wroclaw Baroque Orchestra
Jarosław Thiel, conductor

Jarosław Thiel
Artistic Director of Wrocław Baroque Orchestra. A graduate of the Poznań School of Talents, he studied cello at the Music Academies in Poznań and Łódź. Since 1997 he has focused mainly on historical performance. Jarosław Thiel participated in master classes run by Christine Kypranides at the Dresdner Akademie für Alte Musik and completed post-graduate studies in Baroque cello at the Universität der Künste in Berlin, working with Phoebe Carrai and Markus a Möllenbeck (diploma with distinction). He has collaborated with the most important Polish ensembles of early music. Since 2000 Thiel is the first cellist with the Dresdner Barockorchester and a member of the FestspielOrchester Göttingen led by Laurence Cummings. He also works with other leading German ensembles, such as Cantus Cölln, Akademie für Alte Musik Berlin and Lautten Compagney. He regularly performs as a soloist and chamber musician, apperaig at numerous Polish and international festivals of early music. He teaches Baroque cello at the Academy of Music in Poznań and during the Summer Academy of Early Music in Lidzbark Warmiński, Poland. In 2006 he was appointed artistic director of the Wrocław Baroque Orchestra.

Booklet for Kurpiński, Dobrzyński & Moniuszko: Orchestral Works

© 2010-2023 HIGHRESAUDIO