A Forest of Arms Great Lake Swimmers

Cover A Forest of Arms

Album info



Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • 1Something Like a Storm03:14
  • 2Zero in the City03:05
  • 3Shaking All Over03:50
  • 4Don't Leave Me Hanging03:12
  • 5One More Charge at the Red Cape03:10
  • 6I Was a Wayward Pastel Bay03:15
  • 7A Bird Flew Inside the House02:47
  • 8A Jukebox in a Desert of Snow03:39
  • 9I Must Have Someone Else's Blues03:12
  • 10The Great Bear04:17
  • 11With Every Departure03:14
  • 12Expecting You03:52
  • 13Talking in Your Sleep (Bonus Track)03:33
  • Total Runtime44:20

Info for A Forest of Arms

Mit einer aufbrandenden Rhythmusgruppe, rasiermesserscharfer Geige, und aufblühenden Banjo und Gitarren, haben Great Lake Swimmers einige ihrer bisher dynamischsten Songs geschaffen.

„A Forest Of Arms“ ist das sechste Album von Tony Dekkers Great Lake Swimmers und der Nachfolger zu New Wild Everywhere von 2012.

Mit einer aufbrandenden Rhythmusgruppe, rasiermesserscharfer Geige, und aufblühenden Banjo und Gitarren, haben Dekker und seine Bandkollegen ihren Sound bedeutsam vorangetrieben und einige ihrer bisher dynamischsten Songs geschaffen.

Genau wie frühere Alben der Great Lake Swimmers wurde A Forest Of Arms im Laufe mehrerer Monate an unterschiedlichsten Orten aufgenommen.

Einer der einzigartigen und ungewöhnlichen Orte, an denen die Aufnahmen stattfanden, waren die Höhlen und Kavernen von Tyendinaga in Ontario, Kanada.

Die Geigen wurden im Heliconian Club von Toronto aufgenommen, während die Bass- und Schlagzeugtracks überwiegend im Chalet Studio direkt außerhalb von Toronto aufgenommen wurden.

Es gibt auf dem Album außerdem mehrere besondere Gastauftritte von Kevin Kane (Grapes Of Wrath) an der 12-saitigen E-Gitarre und als Backgroundsänger des Songs „A Bird Flew Inside The House“. Aufgenommen wurde das Album von ihrem langjährigen Live-Soundmann Justin Shane Nace und abgemischt vom talentierten Howie Beck (Feist).

„Was die Tontechnik an Atmosphäre, Tiefenschärfe und Raumhall eingefangen hat, klingt faszinierend. Das Songmaterial fügt sich allerdings auch prächtig in diese Inszenierung: stimmungsvolle, akustisch gefärbte Schlenderstücke mit Hang zur Melancholie.“ (AUDIO)

„Folk-Rock-grundierte Songs, bei denen trotz allen Popappeals nicht selten Banjo und Fiddle eine tragende Rolle spielen, die zwischen eingängigen Hooklines und komplexen Arrangements oszillieren.“ (Good Times)

Tony Dekker, vocals, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, mandolin, ukulele
Erik Arnesen, electric guitar, banjo
Bret Higgins, mandolin, piano, Wurlitzer piano, upright bass, electric bass, claves
Miranda Mulholland, violin, background vocals
Joshua Van Tassell, drums, percussion

Great Lake Swimmers
Featuring a blend of acoustic instruments, rural soundscapes, and wistful vocals, Great Lake Swimmers are an indie folk group led by songwriter/vocalist Tony Dekker. The group first appeared in 2003 with a haunting self-titled debut that was recorded in a grain silo and released by Weewerk Records, a small label based in the band's native Toronto. Misra Records picked up the record and released it stateside in April 2005. Recording sessions for Great Lake Swimmers' second album began that same year, with the band taking up residence in an old church in rural southern Ontario. The finished product, Bodies and Minds, was released toward the end of 2006, featuring another blend of homespun folk and lush, intimate Americana.

Ongiara Although already popular in Canada, the band began building a wider audience in 2007 by signing to a new label, Nettwerk, and releasing the well-received Ongiara. The album's first track, "Your Rocky Spine," topped the Canadian indie charts and appeared on the soundtrack to Showtime's Weeds. Such increased attention kept Great Lake Swimmers on tour for the better part of two years, but they still managed to take some time off to record a fourth album. Traveling between multiple locations in the Thousand Islands region and elsewhere in northern New York state, the group hit a creative high peak with Lost Channels, which was released in 2009. The Legion Sessions, an EP featuring live versions of several Lost Channels tunes, also appeared that year. In 2012 Great Lake Swimmers released New Wild Everywhere, their first album to be recorded in a traditional studio. For 2015's A Forest of Arms, the group recorded in studios, small music venues, and a variety of unconventional spaces, including Tyendinaga Cavern and Caves, the oldest natural cavern in Ontario.

Booklet for A Forest of Arms

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO