Appleton's Choice Appleton

Album info

Album-Release:
2018

HRA-Release:
18.10.2018

Label: Personality Records

Genre: Jazz

Subgenre: Vocal

Album including Album cover

?

Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 15.30
  • 1The Real Thing 04:20
  • 2Abracadabra 03:57
  • 3Moondance05:59
  • 4I Feel The Earth Move04:36
  • 5Roxanne 04:37
  • 6Day Tripper 04:21
  • 7Lonely Morning 05:51
  • 8Blackbird 05:53
  • 9Let It Be 05:15
  • 10Son Of A Preacherman 03:46
  • Total Runtime48:35

Info for Appleton's Choice



The current album Appleton's Choice by the band Appleton reflects exactly what is already expected in the title of the CD. A very personal song selection of the individual band members selected from the already over 50 years old band history.

The result is a colorful mix of well-known pop songs from various decades and original compositions. Everything bundled in the unmistakable Appleton sound that is sometimes groovy, sometimes funky and sometimes poppy.

So songs like Lisa Stansfield's "The Real Thing" and Van Morrison's "Moon Dance" hit the Beatles classics like "Day Tripper and Let it be". Then a little sting with "Roxanne" and it's done. Let yourself be surprised.

Staged around the Belgian Jazz Singer Caroll Vanwelden, who joined the band in place of her colleague Barbara Drennan in 2015, Appleton is known for ist unique interpretations of the Beatels, Van Morrion’s, Steve Miller as well as Sting, to name but a few.

Appleton was founded in 1967 by the brothers Joh, Chris and Stephen Brenninkme-yer, known as cover band in the area of Frankfurt/Main, Germany. In the year 1969, they recorded a single for an ad-campaign of C&A Fashion, back then with Werner G. Seifert, guitarist and Jazz musician. Later, he was replaced by Harald Terkowsky taking on the role of the rockguitarist. In 1972 the band took a sabbatical in order to be able to dedicate more time to their families, studies and professional careers.

It took them 26 years until they were ready for a come-back: in 1998 they made a fresh start with professional musicians in the brass section: Thomas Siffling (trumpet, flugelhorn), Chris Perschke (trombone, musical director), Karen Perschke (saxophone, traverse flute) – joined by the English singer Barbara Drennan in 2003. In 2010, Karen Perschke was replaced by Andreas Pompe on the saxophone. The style of the band is best described as Rock-Jazz.

Caroll Vanwelden, vocals
Chris Perschke, trombone
Thomas Siffling, trumpet, flugelhorn
Andreas Pompe, saxophone, flute
Harry Terkowsky, guitar
John Brenninkmeijer, piano
Chris Brenninkmeijer, bass
Stephen Brenninkmeijer, drums


Appleton
The Dutch-German Groove Jazz band Appleton takes a bow with its latest programme to perhaps the greatest pop icons of all time: The Beatles. In refined and improvised jazz arrangements centred around a three-piece horn section and singers Caroll Vanwelden from the Netherlands and Barbara Drennan from England, the band presents its very own selection of Beatles classics without, however, diluting or straying too far from the originals.

Groove and Beat are celebrated, and so too are Jazz, Funk and Soul elements. And all of it in a musical language that has since become the band's very own

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2018 HIGHRESAUDIO

Appleton's Choice Appleton

Album info

Album-Release:
2018

HRA-Release:
18.10.2018

Label: Personality Records

Genre: Jazz

Subgenre: Vocal

Album including Album cover

?

Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 15.30
  • 1The Real Thing 04:20
  • 2Abracadabra 03:57
  • 3Moondance05:59
  • 4I Feel The Earth Move04:36
  • 5Roxanne 04:37
  • 6Day Tripper 04:21
  • 7Lonely Morning 05:51
  • 8Blackbird 05:53
  • 9Let It Be 05:15
  • 10Son Of A Preacherman 03:46
  • Total Runtime48:35

Info for Appleton's Choice

Die aktuellen CD Appleton´s Choice der Band Appleton spiegelt genau das wieder was im Titel der CD schon erwartet wird. Eine ganz persönliche Song Auswahl der einzelnen Bandmitglieder ausgesucht aus der mittlerweile schon über 50 jährigen Band Historie.

Herausgekommen ist eine bunte Mischung aus bekannten Pop Songs diverser Jahr-zehnte und Eigenkompositionen. Alles gebündelt im unverkennbaren Appleton Sound der mal groovig mal funky und mal poppig ist.

So treffen Songs wie Lisa Stansfield „The Real Thing“ und Van Morrisons „Moon Dance“ auf die Beatles Klassiker wie „Day Tripper und Let it be „ Dann noch ein wenig Sting mit „Roxanne“ und angerichtet ist es. Lassen Sie sich überraschen.

Die Band Appleton gruppiert sich um die belgische Jazzsängerin Caroll Vanwelden, die im Jahr 2015 die Nachfolge der englischen Sängerin Barbara Drennan antrat. Appleton ist bekannt durch seine eigenen Interpretationen von Songs der Beatles, sowie Van Morrison, Steve Miller, Sting etc.

Die Band wurde 1967 von den Brüdern John, Chris und Stephen Brenninkmeyer gegründet und war im Raum Frankfurt am Main als Coverband bekannt. 1969 wurde eine Werbe Single für C&A Mode aufgenommen, damals mit dem Gitarristen und Jazzmusiker Werner G. Seifert. Seine Stelle als Rockgitarrist übernahm bald Harald Terkowsky. Im Jahr 1972 ging die Band in eine Pause um sich ihrer Familie, Studium und Berufskarrieren zu widmen.

Das Come-Back lies 26 Jahre auf sich warten: 1998, gab es einen Neustart mit pro-fessionellen Musikern in der Brass-Section: Thomas Siffling (Trompete, Flügelhorn), Chris Perschke (Posaune und Music Director), Karen Perschke (Saxophon, Querflöte) - ab 2003 stieß die englische Sängerin Barbara Drennan hinzu. 2010 ersetzte Andreas Pompe Karen Perschke am Saxophon. Der Musikstil ist Rock-Jazz.

Caroll Vanwelden, Gesang
Chris Perschke, Posaune
Thomas Siffling, Trompete, Flügelhorn
Andreas Pompe, Saxophon, Flöte
Harry Terkowsky, Gitarre
John Brenninkmeijer, Klavier
Chris Brenninkmeijer, Bass
Stephen Brenninkmeijer, Schlagzeug




Appleton
Die niederländisch-deutsche Groove Jazz Band Appleton verneigt sich mit Ihrem Neustem Programm vor den vielleicht größten Pop Ikonen aller Zeiten: den Beatles.

In raffinierten und durch einem 3 köpfigen Bläsersatz dem improvisierten Jazz zugewandten Arrangements rund um die Sängerinnen Caroll Vanwelden aus den Niederlanden und Barbara Dennan aus England, präsentiert die Band Ihrer ganz eigene Auswahl von Beatles Klassiker ohne dabei aber das Original zu verwässern oder zu sehr zu verfremden.

Groove und Beat werden dabei genauso wie Jazz, Funk und Soul Elemente zelebriert. Alles immer in ihrer mittlerweile ganz eigenen musikalischen Sprache.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2018 HIGHRESAUDIO