Mussorgsky: Pictures at an Exhibition - Prokofiev: Symphony No. 1, "Classical" Orchestre de l'Opera National de Paris & Philippe Jordan

Cover Mussorgsky: Pictures at an Exhibition - Prokofiev: Symphony No. 1, 'Classical'

Album info



Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • Modest Mussorgsky (1839-1881): Arr Ravel: Pictures at an Exhibition:
  • 1I. Promenade I01:41
  • 2II. Gnomus02:31
  • 3III. Promenade II00:54
  • 4IV. Il Vecchio Castello04:11
  • 5V. Promenade III00:32
  • 6VI. Tuileries01:06
  • 7VII. Bydlo03:09
  • 8VIII. Promenade IV00:46
  • 9IX. Ballet of the Unhatched Chicks01:18
  • 10X. Samuel Goldenberg and Schmuyle02:19
  • 11XI. The Market at Limoges01:27
  • 12XII. Catacombæ (Sepulcrum romanum)01:59
  • 13XIII. Cum mortuis in lingua mortua02:04
  • 14XIV. The Hut on Fowl's Legs (Baba-Yagá)03:31
  • 15XV. The Great Gate of Kiev05:50
  • Sergei Prokofiev (1891-1953): Symphony No. 1 in D Major, Op. 25, "Classical Symphony":
  • 16I. Allegro04:16
  • 17II. Larghetto04:07
  • 18III. Gavotta01:37
  • 19IV. Finale - Molto vivace04:09
  • Total Runtime47:27

Info for Mussorgsky: Pictures at an Exhibition - Prokofiev: Symphony No. 1, "Classical"

Russisch-französischer Brückenschlag: „Ein Dirigent muss im Orchestergraben wie auf dem Konzertpodium aktiv sein“, sagt Philippe Jordan – seit 2009 Musikdirektor der Opéra National de Paris. Und er lebt nach diesen Worten: Seit Jahren präsentiert er das fabelhafte Pariser Opernorchester auch in gefeierten Konzerten. Im Juni 2016 war er mit seinen Musikern in Russland zu Gast und spielte ein Programm, in dem sich slawische Traditionen mit französischer Klangsinnlichkeit verbanden: Prokofjews Symphonie Classique und Mussorgskys Bilder einer Ausstellung in der Orchestrierung von Ravel. Nur eine Woche nach dem Konzert entstand die Studio-Einspielung mit demselben Repertoire.

Hier begegnen sich russische und westeuropäische Traditionen und bilden einen großen erzählerischen Gestus, den Jordan gekonnt auszuspielen weiß. Immerhin hat er mit seiner 2015 erschienenen Aufnahme von Ravels Daphnis et Chloé und La Valse die außerordentliche französische Klangkultur bewiesen, die sich hier wie in Mussorgskys Zyklus mit packender Dramatik verbindet. Ravels Bearbeitung von 1922 machte das originale Klavierwerk zu einem Klassiker des Repertoires. Der Brückenschlag zu Russland hat auch einen historischen Bezug – reagierte Prokofjew mit seiner an der Klangwelt der Wiener Klassik orientierten ersten Sinfonie auf den Weltenbrand des Ersten Weltkrieges und die Russische Revolution vor genau 100 Jahren.

Orchestre du Theatre National de l'Opera de Paris
Philippe Jordan, Dirigent

Philippe Jordan
Currently Musical Director of the Opera National de Paris and Chief Conductor of the Wiener Symphoniker beginning September 2014, Philippe Jordan has established himself as one of the most gifted and exciting conductors of his generation.

Philippe Jordan’s musical education began with piano lessons at the age of six. At the age of eight, he joined the Zurich Sängerknaben and he was eleven when he began studying violin. At sixteen, he entered the Zurich Conservatory where he obtained his diploma of piano teacher with honors. He studied theory and composition with the Swiss composer Hans Ulrich Lehmann and continued his piano studies with Karl Engel. At the same time, he worked as assistant to Maestro Jeffrey Tate on Wagner’s Ring Cycle at the Châtelet in Paris. He continues to appear occasionally as pianist in recital and chamber music.

His career began in 1994/95 as Kapellmeister of the Ulm Stadttheater. From 1998-2001, he was assistant to Daniel Barenboim at the Deutsche Staatsoper in Berlin. From 2001-2004, he held the position of Chief Conductor of the Graz Opera and Graz Philharmonic Orchestra. In this period he made his debut at several prestigious international Opera houses and festivals, the Houston Grand Opera, the Glyndebourne Festival, the Aix-en-Provence Festival, the Metropolitan Opera, New York, the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, the Teatro alla Scala, the Bayerische Staatsoper, Munich, the Salzburger Festspiele (Cosi fan tutte), the Wiener Staatsoper, the Festspielhaus Baden Baden (Tannhäuser) and the Bayreuth Festival (Parsifal). From 2006-2010, he was Principal Guest Conductor of the Berlin Staatsoper unter den Linden.

Philippe Jordan’s orchestral engagements have included the Berlin Philharmonic, the Vienna Philharmonic, Berlin Staatskapelle, Vienna Symphony, Vienna RSO, Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France, Philharmonia Orchestra London, Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia, Orchestre de la Suisse Romande, Tonhalle Zurich, Chamber Orchestra of Europe, Mahler Chamber Orchestra, Gustav Mahler Youth Orchestra, NDR/Hamburg Symphony, DSO Berlin, Mozarteum Orchestra Salzburg, Rotterdam Philharmonic Orchestra and the Munchner Philharmoniker. In North America, he has appeared with the Seattle, St. Louis, Dallas, Detroit, Chicago, Cleveland, Philadelphia, Washington, Minnesota, Montreal, New York and San Francisco Orchestras.

Highlights of the last season include Tristan und Isolde at the Paris Opera, as well as a prestigious tour with the Paris Opera Orchestra for concerts at the Musikverein in Vienna.

In the 2014-2015 season, he will conduct Die Entführung aus dem Serail, Pelléas et Mélisande and Le Roi Arthus at the Paris Opera as well as Arabella in Munich with the Bayerische Staatsoper. He will also conduct concerts at the Teatro alla Scala and at Lucerne Festival as well as a Beethoven Cycle with the Opera National de Paris and an integral Schubert Cycle with the Wiener Symphoniker.

Philippe Jordan has recorded Carmen (Glyndebourne Festival), Werther (Wiener Staatsoper), Doktor Faust (Zurich Opera) and Salomé (Covent Garden), Tannhäuser (Baden Baden), Le Nozze di Figaro (Paris Opera) and Pelléas et Mélisande (Opéra de Paris), which received the “CHOC de l’année” prize for Classica, in DVD format. He has also recorded for Naïve the complete Beethoven Piano concertos with François-Frédéric Guy and Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France as well as the Strauss Alpensymphonie with the Opéra National de Paris Orchestra awarded “CHOC de l’année - Classica”. The Sacre du Printemps CD that he also recorded received the “CHOC” prize for the Musical World. Mr. Jordan has also recently released two albums, one with a recording of the Verdi Requiem, the other with symphonic excerpts from Wagner’s Ring. Both of these were performed with the orchestra of the Opéra National de Paris and were released through the label Erato. In September 2014, he recorded a CD of Tchaikovsky’s Pathétique symphony with the Vienna Symphony Orchestra.

Booklet for Mussorgsky: Pictures at an Exhibition - Prokofiev: Symphony No. 1, "Classical"

© 2010-2018 HIGHRESAUDIO