Cover Grace Williams: Chamber Music

Album info



Label: Naxos

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Chamber Music

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 13.50
  • Grace Williams (1906 - 1977): Violin Sonata:
  • 1Violin Sonata: I. Allegro molto ritmico05:58
  • 2Violin Sonata: II. Andante sostenuto06:39
  • 3Violin Sonata: III. Allegro scherzando05:19
  • Sextet for Oboe, Trumpet & Piano Quartet:
  • 4Sextet for Oboe, Trumpet & Piano Quartet: I. Poco adagio - Allegro con brio - Poco adagio10:18
  • 5Sextet for Oboe, Trumpet & Piano Quartet: II. Allegro scherzando - Poco lento - Allegro scherzando07:18
  • 6Sextet for Oboe, Trumpet & Piano Quartet: III. Andante. Tranquillo e semplice07:49
  • 7Sextet for Oboe, Trumpet & Piano Quartet: IV. Allegro molto. Quasi una tarantella05:52
  • Suite for 9 Instruments:
  • 8Suite for 9 Instruments: I. Allegro moderato03:41
  • 9Suite for 9 Instruments: II. Andantino05:08
  • 10Suite for 9 Instruments: III. Allegro con brio04:30
  • Grace Williams, Zerlina Vulliamy:
  • 11Romanza (Arr. Z. Vulliamy for Oboe & Bass Clarinet)02:14
  • Grace Williams:
  • 12Sarabande for Piano Left Hand04:03
  • 13Rondo for Dancing (Version for 2 Violins & Cello)01:55
  • Total Runtime01:10:44

Info for Grace Williams: Chamber Music

Grace Williams (19 February 1906 – 10 February 1977) was a Welsh composer. Born in the coastal town of Barry, near Cardiff, Grace learned piano and violin and developed her musical skills early. She won the Morfydd Owen scholarship to Cardiff University in 1923 where she studied under Professor David Evans and in 1926 she proceeded to the Royal College of Music, London, where she was taught by Gordon Jacob and Ralph Vaughan Williams. Williams is regarded by many as one of Wales finest composers. She wrote two symphonies, the earlier being the first symphony ever composed by a Welsh composer, a mass, one opera, numerous other pieces for orchestras and chamber ensemble, as well as accomplished vocal works. She was also the first British woman to score a feature film, with Blue Scar in 1949. Her chamber music, recorded here for the first time, spans 40 years.

Madeleine Mitchell, violin, direction
Konstantin Lapshin, piano
London Chamber Ensemble

No albums found.

No biography found.

Booklet for Grace Williams: Chamber Music

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO