Biography Chor & Orchester der J.S. Bach-Stiftung, Rudolf Lutz


Rudolf Lutz
(1951) is lecturer in improvisation at the “Schola Cantorum Basiliensis”, the University of Early Music, Basle. At this specialist school for historical performance practice, he and three colleagues instruct around 30 students in the keyboard instrument department.

In St. Gallen, Rudolf Lutz is organist of the church “St. Laurenzen Kirche”, a post he has held since 1973. He is also conductor of the “St. Galler Kammerensemble”, which he has led since 1986. From 1986 to 2008, he conducted the “Bach-Chor St. Gallen”.

Rudolf Lutz was appointed artistic director of the J. S. Bach Foundation of St. Gallen in 2006. In view of the foundation’s mission to perform Bach’s complete vocal works, Rudolf Lutz established the Orchestra and Choir of the J. S. Bach Foundation, as well as a permanent group of soloists.

The Choir and Orchestra of the J. S. Bach Foundation was founded by Rudolf Lutz in 2006. The ensemble consists of professional musicians from the whole of Switzerland, southern Germany and Austria. All its members are experienced in historical performance practices and relish the challenge of exploring a contemporary and vital interpretation of Bach's cantatas. The Choir and Orchestra consists of regular members, with extra musicians being engaged according to the demands of the work performed. The choir's size varies in the range of up to 40 voices, and is made up of young professional singers. Individual members receive the opportunity to take on solo roles from time to time.

Conducted by Rudolf Lutz, the Choir and Orchestra has been performing Bach’s cantatas in a monthly concert cycle since October 2006. Throughout the ongoing work of this project, it has continually developed and matured. Today, the ensemble is distinguished by its homogenous, yet flexible sound and its wealth of experience in the interpretation of Bach’s works. The quality and of vitality of its performances have garnered the group notable critical acclaim. In recent years, the Choir and Orchestra has ventured beyond its home concert hall in Trogen, Switzerland, and now gives regular concerts both nationally and internationally.

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO

Biography Chor & Orchester der J.S. Bach-Stiftung, Rudolf Lutz


Rudolf Lutz
(1951) ist Dozent für Improvisation an der Hochschule für Alte Musik «Schola Cantorum Basiliensis» und für Generalbass an der Hochschule für Musik Basel. An dieser Hochschule für Historische Aufführungspraxis unterrichtet er zusammen mit drei Kollegen rund 30 Studentinnen und Studenten der Abteilung Tasteninstrumente. In Konzerten und Workshops ist er ein gefragter Spezialist für historische Improvisationspraxis.

In St. Gallen ist Rudolf Lutz seit 1973 Organist an der evangelischen Stadtkirche St. Laurenzen. Er leitete zwischen 1986 und 2008 den Bach-Chor und stand dem St. Galler Kammerensemble 1986 bis 2010 vor.

2006 wurde Rudolf Lutz zum künstlerischen Leiter der J.S. Bach-Stiftung berufen. Im Hinblick auf die geplante Gesamtaufführung von Bachs Vokalwerk hat Rudolf Lutz in Zusammenarbeit mit anderen Musikern Chor & Orchester der J. S. Bach-Stiftung sowie ein ständiges Ensemble von Solisten aufgebaut.

Chor & Orchester der J. S. Bach-Stiftung wurden 2006 von Rudolf Lutz gegründet. Das Ensemble besteht aus Berufsmusikerinnen und -musikern aus der ganzen Schweiz, Süddeutschland und Österreich, die sich in der historischen Musizierpraxis gut auskennen und diese undogmatisch in den Dienst einer modernen, vitalen Interpretation stellen. Chor und Orchester bestehen aus einer festen Stammbesetzung, die je nach Erfordernis der Werke ergänzt wird. Den Chor bilden junge Berufssängerinnen und -sänger in variabler Besetzung bis zu vierzig Personen, wobei einzelne Sängerinnen und Sänger auch immer wieder die Chance bekommen, solistische Aufgaben zu übernehmen.

Seit Oktober 2006 erarbeitet dieses Ensemble im Monatsrhythmus Bachkantaten. Diese kontinuierliche Arbeit unter der Leitung des Dirigenten Rudolf Lutz hat das Ensemble zusammenwachsen und reifen lassen. Heute verfügt es über einen homogenen, facettenreichen Klang und eine grosse Erfahrung in der Interpretation von Bachwerken. Begeisterte Kritiken bestätigen das hohe Niveau und die Lebendigkeit seines Spiels. Chor & Orchester der J. S. Bach-Stiftung haben ihre Konzerttätigkeit über den Aufführungsort Trogen hinaus ausgeweitet und treten mittlerweile national und international auf.

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO