Cover Love Stories

Album info



Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • David Chalmin (b.1980): Star-Cross'd Lovers:
  • 1Act I: Prologue01:54
  • 2Act I: Street Fight01:45
  • 3Act I: Star-Cross'd Lovers01:56
  • 4Act I: The Party03:24
  • 5Act I: Two Foes02:05
  • 6Act II: Prologue01:29
  • 7Act II: Capulet's Orchard00:40
  • 8Act II: Mariage01:14
  • 9Act III: Prologue00:14
  • 10Act III: Mercutio Vs. Tybalt01:56
  • 11Act III: Mercutio's Death01:23
  • 12Act III: Romeo Vs. Tybalt02:24
  • 13Act III: Tybalt's Death00:36
  • 14Act III: A Room In Capulet's House01:12
  • 15Act IV: Juliet's Despair01:58
  • 16Act IV: Juliet's Poison02:37
  • 17Act V: Romeo's Rage01:10
  • 18Act V: Romeo's Poison01:16
  • 19Act V: Juliet's Awake01:33
  • 20Act V: Epilogue02:01
  • Leonard Bernstein (1918 - 1990): West Side Story - Arr. for two pianos and percussions by Irwin Kostal:
  • 21Prologue04:15
  • 22Jet Song01:54
  • 23Something's Coming02:22
  • 24Rock Blues01:52
  • 25Mambo02:26
  • 26Cha Cha01:54
  • 27Maria03:14
  • 28America02:32
  • 29Cool04:00
  • 30I Feel Pretty01:03
  • 31One Hand, One Heart02:01
  • 32Tonight02:40
  • 33Somewhere03:05
  • 34A Boy Like That02:19
  • 35I Have A Love03:21
  • 36The Rumble01:23
  • 37Finale02:52
  • Total Runtime01:16:00

Info for Love Stories

Das legendäre Klavierduo Labèque holt das Musical-Liebespaar Tony und Maria in die Gegenwart: die symphonischen Tänze aus der »West Side Story« in neuer, »schlagkräftiger« Fassung. Klassische Musik trifft auf Hip-Hop, zeitgenössischer Tanz auf Percussion und Live-Elektronik. Zum Abschluss ertönt eine Neukomposition des Singer-Songwriters David Chalmin. Gemeinsam mit dem Choreographen Yaman Okur aus dem Team von Madonna hat er eine unkonventionelle Shakespeare-Adaption geschaffen.

Katia Labèque, Klavier
Marielle Labèque, Klavier
David Chalmin, Gitarre, Electronics
Raphael Seguinier, Schlagzeug, Percussion
Gonzalo Grau, Percussion
Pablo Bencid, Timbales, Percussion (Track „Mambo“)

Katia and Marielle Labèque
are sibling pianists renowned for their ensemble of synchronicity and energy. Daughters of Ada Cecchi (who was, herself, a pupil of Marguerite Long), Katia and Marielle had a childhood filled with music. Their musical ambitions started at an early age and they rose to international fame with their contemporary rendition of Gershwin's Rhapsody in Blue (one of the first gold records in classical music) and have since developed a stunning career with performances worldwide.

They are regular guests with the most prestigious orchestras such as the Berlin Philharmonic, Bayerischer Rundfunk, Boston Symphony, Chicago Symphony, Cleveland Orchestra, Leipzig Gewandhaus, London Symphony, London Philharmonic, Los Angeles Philharmonic, Filarmonia della Scala, Philadelphia Orchestra, Dresden Staatskapelle and Vienna Philharmonic, under the direction of Semyon Bychkov, Sir Colin Davis,Gustavo Dudamel, Charles Dutoit, Sir John Eliot Gardiner, Miguel Harth-Bedoya, Kristjan Jarvi,Zubin Mehta, Seiji Ozawa, Antonio Pappano, Georges Pretre , Sir Simon Rattle, Esa-Pekka Salonen, Leonard Slatkin, and Michael Tilson Thomas.

They have appeared with Baroque music ensembles such as The English Baroque Soloists with Sir John Eliot Gardiner, Il Giardino Armonico with Giovanni Antonini, Musica Antica with Reinhard Goebel and Venice Baroque with Andrea Marcon and recently toured with Age of Enlightenment & Sir Simon Rattle.

Their North American engagements in the upcoming season begin with a return to the Hollywood Bowl, Toronto's Summer Music Festival and in the Spring of 2014 a recital tour in which Bernstein's West Side Story in a special arrangement for two pianos and two percussionists will be featured. During the fall they will make their first visit to Australia in recitals as well as orchestral concerts in Sydney and Melbourne.

Katia and Marielle had the privilege of working with composers including Louis Andriessen, Luciano Berio, Pierre Boulez, Philippe Boesmans, Osvaldo Golijov, György Ligeti, Olivier Messiaen.

The Labèques have played in festivals and renowned venues worldwide including the Vienna Musikverein, Hamburg Musikhalle, Munich Philharmonie, Carnegie Hall, Royal Festival Hall, La Scala, Berlin Philharmonie, Blossom, Hollywood Bowl, Lucerne, Ludwisburg, Mostly Mozart, The BBC Proms, Ravinia, Ruhr, Tanglewood and Salzburg. A record audience of more than 33,000 attended a gala concert with the Berlin Philharmonic conducted by Sir Simon Rattle at Berlin’s Waldbühne, now available on “Medici” DVD.

They recently released a new recording of Gershwin's Rhapsody in Blue and Bernstein's West Side Story on their own label, KML Recordings. They have also launched the KML Foundation aimed at furthering research and developing awareness of the duo piano repertory through meetings between artists of all fields. 2014 highlights included the release of a documentary “The Labèque Way” produced by'El Deseo' ( Pedro Almodovar ) and filmed by Felix Cabez and concerts in Vienna with The Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra at the Musikverein with Semyon Bychkov conducting.

2013 saw the release of their new project “The Minimalist Dream House” inspired by the early 1961 concerts curated by La Monte Young at Yoko Ono’s downtown New York loft. Musicians from the alternative rock and classical worlds came together to celebrate this revolutionary movement and its many waves of influence in the intervening 50 years. The 3 CD was released in February at the time of their series of concerts in Paris at 'La Cité de la Musique'.

Booklet for Love Stories

© 2010-2018 HIGHRESAUDIO